Terraced Rice Fields


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Ping An
May 9th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I took an organized day tour to PingAn - in an area known as the Dragon's Backbone. It is an extremely hilly area - mountainous really - that is quite remote and where the rice fields are terraced into the side of the mountains. Extraordinary.

The excursion was by van, with 6 paying clients and about an equal number of lcoals along for the ride😊. It is a 3 hour trip one way, and about half way there wwe stopped at the side of the road so that the locals could have a feed of noodles from a stree tvendor - have I mentioned the chinese and their relationship with food? ALWAYS eating.

Eventually made it there and what a day. I had researched this place on line and seen photos, but really - this is an amazing amazing place. I danced with the local Mao women, hiked the terraces for over 2 hours (with a local Naxi woman as my shadow in tow) and being all around overwhelmed by this place. And, because as I have mentioned I am a sap, I bought a silver bracelet from my shadow for too much money.

Anyway, I will let the photos speak for themselves. And in case anyone missed my point -if you come to China (and you should) you absolutely, unconditionally, without a doubt need to get out of the cities and visit Yangshuo and PingAn. Heaven on earth.

Off to Shanghai on the 11th. Hope everyone is well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Path to the LookoutPath to the Lookout
Path to the Lookout

Sheer drop to the right
FriendsFriends
Friends

Trinket and drink sellers. And hiking partner:)


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb