Jing Xiu Shan park


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Nanning
May 3rd 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Long Xiang tower - May 2008Long Xiang tower - May 2008Long Xiang tower - May 2008

Here I am again at Long Xiang tower (tháp Long Tượng). I used to visit the tower 8 years ago in April 2000 and this year I am back here with my traditional dress. Time flies... I didn't think that I could ever have such a great chance.
Here I am again at the Jing Xiu Shan park (công viên Thanh Tú Sơn) in Nanning, China. On my first visit to Nanning 8 years ago (in April 2000), I also spent a morning visiting the park and liked the place so much that this time when I returned to Nanning, I asked the Chinese tourist guide to organize a trip for us to the park. Some people on the tour had not been there yet. I told them it was a great place to visit. Each of us paid 60 Yuan to the Chinese tourist guide and driver. They took us to the park and we spent 2 hours over there before leaving Nanning for Pingxiang.

A new place I saw this time is Guan Yin pagoda. The other sites I’ve seen before, for example, Feng Huang tower, Long Xiang tower, Thai pagoda and Tian Chi lake. The reason why there is a Thai pagoda at the park is that some Thai students who suffered from the burns came to China for treatment and later a Thai pagoda was built over there.

The park is considered as one of the must-sees in Nanning as our guide said. It’s very large, so we had to travel by bus from A to B, then climbed up the towers to enjoy a great view of the green trees and buildings far away. I like the relaxing atmosphere at the park, as well as colorful fish at Tian Chi lake.

I brought two Áo Dài (Vietnamese traditional dress) with me to Nanning and Guilin and I did feel that the Chinese really liked them in the way they looked at me walking down the streets, at the shops or inside the park. On my visit to the park, I wore a brown Áo Dài, which has a boat painting on the front panel. Not only the Chinese, but the Vietnamese people I travelled with on the tour, as well as some Vietnamese I met at the park, also liked it. They called me “Miss Vietnam”, because I was the only Vietnamese girl there wearing our traditional dress. A Vietnamese man passing by me at the park even teased me "She is taller than me!" (it's true).

The photos in this blog were taken on Saturday moring 3 May 2008 at Guan Yin pagoda (chùa Quan Âm), Feng Huang tower (tháp Phượng Hoàng), Long Xiang tower (tháp Long Tượng), Thai pagoda (chùa Thái) and Tian Chi lake (hồ cá Thiên Trì) of Jing Xiu Shan park (công viên Thanh Tú Sơn) in Nanning, China. Thanks must go to our Vietnamese tour guide Biểu, who helped me take these great Áo Dài photos in both Nanning and Guilin.

This is also the last blog about my 4-day trip (from 30 April to 3 May 2008) to Nanning and Guilin, China.



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Old Buddha statuesOld Buddha statues
Old Buddha statues

These very old Buddha statues have been found in Guangxi province and now are displayed at the park.
Tian Chi lake Tian Chi lake
Tian Chi lake

Fishes swimming in the lake.
Guan Gong statue (Quan Công)Guan Gong statue (Quan Công)
Guan Gong statue (Quan Công)

The biggest incense sticks I've ever seen.


7th May 2008

Interesting blog
Another beautiful Áo Dài... Thank you for sharing your trip story. Hope to see you in Hanoi. Matt
7th May 2008

The Red and white Ao Dai you wore in Guilin was very pretty and with the nice backdrop, it was like a calendar photo. Your blog really shows your love for travelling and sharing your joy.

Tot: 0.553s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 38; qc: 194; dbt: 0.2653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb