Day 4 - Hike up Moon Hill, mud baths and hot spa


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin » Daxu
July 24th 2013
Published: July 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 4 - Hike up to Moon Hill
We did manage a bit of a lay in this morning 8.10! Whilst waiting my turn for the shower, I woke myself up with a nice cuppa. We went off for breakfast in Monkey Jaynes, my omlette was nice, but not everyone's meals came in time. We had to leave before theirs came as we needed to set off for Moon Hill at 9.30.

The first part of the home was to pick up our bikes. We had an 8km bike ride to get there. Moon Hill was just as I expected it to be! I was thinking about Nadia and Vietnam, all the way up. There were 8 if in the group, and Sally, the guide. It was a hard, uphill hike. There are 900 steps. It was a high intensity cardio-vascular workout ! I sweat buckets. My heart was pumping out of my body! On the way down my legs just shook!!! But I did get there and back ! After the hike we went for lunch, which was very welcome! Bamboo shoots with rice. Then off we set again on our bikes; it was only a ten minute ride to the mud baths and hot springs.

We entered the mud baths through a set of caves that were filled with stalagmites and stalagmites; many of them have been named like elephant ear and maternal love etc. I could see it, but you did need an imagination. It was nicely lit in coloured lights to enhance the experience! After trekking down, what seemed for ages we came to they'd baths. That was amazing! It was the wow rest feeling. It couldn't be helped; you just had to float. We stayed there a while before showering in freezing cold water to remove as much mud as possible, but that was an impossible task. We then moved on a bit further through the caves until we came to the hot spring. It was seriously hotter than my bath water at home; again, a wired experience. Loved it!

We made our way put after about half an hour. I was anticipating having to climb all the steps and stairs to get out. What a relief when I found that it was only a 2 minute walk to the exit. Very happy about that! Then it was back on our bikes to cycle back to Monkey Jaynes Hostel in Yangshuo.

On our return I had a shower, it felt sooooooo good after all that mud, but later on in the evening..... I still had mud in my ears! Tonight we went for a group meal at The Claypot. It was another really good meal. That's all from me tonight....more tomorrow xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



24th July 2013

wow
aww the pics are great!! thwe mud bath looks soooo awesome! it sound slike ur having the time of ur life! missed u at yoga last night - nowt much happening here - same old! cant wait to see ur photo of a yoga pose in china ;) xxxxxx
24th July 2013

hahahha
mum I thought u was all in the buff at first in that pic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5th August 2013

Ella.... I thought they was in the buff too!!!! Told my mam they was. lol
5th August 2013

Ella.... I thought they was in the buff too!!!! Told my mam they was. lol

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb