Hong Kong Zhuhai ferry ride and InternChina Pickup


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
June 13th 2012
Published: June 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It is funny how big the Hong Kong Airport actually is and how you get lost in your mind. Not really I mean – there are too many signs pointing in the right direction – but more on which level you are. I actually thought I was at the ground level when I was waiting for the departure but apparently not. Because after going up and down (driving with a SUPER COLD train) and uuuuup again I found out, that actually THAT was the ground floor. Well I still had some time to take some pictures and eat a sandwich from Seven Eleven and then it was time.

As I mentioned before, I thought that for 8€ more going in the first class would be a fun idea and that is what I did. Apparently I was the only one and so I had enough time to relax, look at the sea, dream and sleep 😉 I was so worn out by the flight and all the waiting in the Iceland called Hong Kong Airport that I actually fell asleep. Not long though – the ride itself was only about 50-60 minutes. But the really cool thing was my first First Class “Meal”. It consisted of water melon and some cookies (which btw where GREAT) and a Sprite– not much you might say, but for me it was awesome!

Getting off the ferry – where it was still cold – I was still wearing my warm zipper hoody and when I got out I was almost frozen! That actually changed pretty fast because Zhuhais weather can be describes with only two word – HOT and HUMID. I mean seriously? Coming from Germany with cold 10°C in July getting into a 32°C /70% humidity hot Zhuhai was pretty hard. Especially for me, since I really do not like hot weather. And yeah I know I choose Zhuhai and I knew it before but STILL!

Anyways so I got my luggage (was actually afraid it would not show up) and went to the visa inspection. That was pretty fast and when I got out 2 people from InternChina were already waiting for me and after introduction had been made we took a taxi to the office.

Taxis in China. It is just crazy. I love it. I mean the drivers do not speak English – of course- and the only thing I can say is Ni Hao and Xie Xie – good but not good enough. And they drive like there is no tomorrow. Actually everybody does. And I really think Chinese cannot survive a day without honking at least twice at somebody – I will get back to the honking a little later. Anyways so when we arrived it was like in one of these movies – really hot outside and really cold inside , the Chinese security guy looking at us when we walked by just nodding and us going into an old elevator. Upstairs I got to know the typical one room company. It is small but enough space to hold several people and even though it is just one room it IS a whole company (or in InternChinas case a branch)! My company is actually the same – but more about that later!

I was really tired but really excited as well. I got to know all the people I had only been in contact with via mail and they are all really, really nice to me! They all gave me a lot of information about Zhuhai. Apparently my home is situated really well – and now that I have been here for some days I can assure you I DO! – and it is really close to my company. After introductions and a lot of information about good locations in Zhuhai, we still had some time left until I could meet my family. So I went down again and wandered around a bit. And the first thing I realized is, that it was REALLY HOT so I tried to stay out of the sun and went into some shops. And I won’t have to tell you this but China is CHEAP! Like only 3 Yuan (about 35 Eurocents) for a Coke! I didn’t really buy anything but just strolled around. The only thing I really have to be careful about are the uneven streets. I almost fell on my nose for about 3 times – in a walk of 30 minutes 😉 But when you walk around and try to get all the impressions than you cannot really look down 😉 And another thing I talked about – honking. I seriously think it is suicide to cross streets in Zhuhai (do not know if it is as bad in other cities) because there
Dead Gras?Dead Gras?Dead Gras?

well ask yourself why this gras is obviously dead..its in the middle of the day, sun is shining like hell, 30°C and he is WATERING?!
are no streetlight and if you cross you need to watch out for cars. And if they think you are in the way they furiously start honking!! I still haven’t gotten the right technique but I am working on it 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Zhuhai CoastZhuhai Coast
Zhuhai Coast

Palm trees, 30°C and sunshine - holiday feeling!


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb