Last day in Zhuhai!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

gardengardengarden

They keep everything very well manicured in this city.
Last day in Zhuhai! And last night with my annoying roommate! Another teacher, Serena, needed a new roommate so she and I will be rooming together in Shenzhen. Yeah! The exam this morning was really easy. I aced it, I'm sure. It was really just a formality anyway. They need all of us to pass. 😊 After the test I walked down to this island park about a mile away from the hotel. I wanted to get a few more pictures before we leave. It rained again earlier, so it was pretty cloudy. And the humidity makes my camera lens fog up, so taking pictures is not always easy. Afterwards I walked into town to Jusco to get lunch. There were three little girls playing on the stairway that all said 'hello' as I walked by. I said 'hello' back and one of them said "How are you?" So I said "I'm fine, thank you. How are you?" She responded perfectly "I'm fine, thank you!" They were so cute. We had our certificates awarded to us this afternoon and were told what our schedule will be for the rest of the week. Not only do we have a fairly invasive medical
Flower 1Flower 1Flower 1

It's pretty. I have no idea what it is. I'm thinking maybe some kind of lily
exam to look forward to, but also individual interviews by the police!

Now that I've been here for over a week now I'd like to share some interesting facts/observations about China:
1) Toddlers wear crotchless pants to make urinating in the street more efficient. While shocking at first (an old lady pointed a baby's junk at me the other day) it quickly becomes a normal part of the scenery.

2) After a while, even we start staring at white people. When I got on the bus today there was a very handsome (in a John Rhys-Meyers kind of way) man that I knew was not a part of our group and I could tell we were both trying not to stare at each other. And then I saw another unfamiliar white man at the mall and I stopped in my tracks. It's strange, but true.

3) Even when it doesn't feel hot outside, you'll still sweat your ass off. Today actually felt kind of nice, but it was still so freakin' humid I was drenched after my walk.

4) The restaurants with the best food don't have air conditioning. I'm starting to think it's a law or something.

That's all for now, kids. Enjoy the pics!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

pagodapagoda
pagoda

The yacht club, perhaps?
entranceentrance
entrance

At the entrance to the island
Flower 2Flower 2
Flower 2

More prettys. This flower was on a tree.
Flower 3Flower 3
Flower 3

People stare at me when I take close ups of flowers.
signsign
sign

The number one what?!?
stairsstairs
stairs

Oh! This must be the 'mounting entrance'. I don't know what that little blue sign said, but I'm pretty sure it said I would die if I climbed to the top so I didn't even try. :)
AmwayAmway
Amway

Mom, Dad, there is a really exciting opportunity I'd like to discuss with you if you have time for a brief presentation.
It's officialIt's official
It's official

I now have a certificate that says I'm qualified to teach english
Hmmm....Hmmm....
Hmmm....

Why teach billions when you can teach millions?


4th September 2008

Signs
the signs over there totally crack me up Crotchless pants?!
4th September 2008

hahah
Love the pics exspecially with the Dr evil anyway the kids fact interesting why even thrain to go potty they just need " OH PISS BOY" haha good to be the king anyway have fun weith the popo Later dude Jedi one

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb