A funny thing happened on the way to the mainland...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 19th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Huh?Huh?Huh?

Is this making a statement? The clash of classical and modern architecture?
Well, where to start? I returned to the U.S. in 2010 to find a lagging economy that just didn't have room for me. Fortunately for me, my parents did. It was an eventful couple of years. Loved ones were added (two friends gave birth to two baby girls) and others were taken away (my grandmother, a family friend, and two of our canine companions). There were surgeries, long recoveries, and an even longer bathroom renovation. And the story of how I finally got my Z visa could fill a book but I won't waste time with it here.

It was with mixed feelings that I bid farewell to my family yet again and boarded a plane bound for China. My reintegration into Shenzhen hasn't gone as smoothly as I would have liked. I'm working in Nanshan, a new district for me, and I didn't realize how much more expensive housing is here. Just two days after arriving back on the mainland, jet-lagged and pinched for time and money, I agreed to take a room in the apartment of a coworker. I realized after I signed a six month lease and moved in that I'm far too old for roommates. I've
Or...Or...Or...

Was Poseidon just really peeved about that Percy Jackson movie?
already informed them that I'm moving out as soon as possible. Which, money-wise, will be about two months. I suppose one is never too old to make stupid mistakes.

The new job is good. I don't have any real complaints there. Everyone I work with is very nice and helpful. I'm the only foreign woman, which I expected. It is mostly the menfolk who venture over here for adventure (mostly of the pocket-sized girlfriend variety).

My friends here are all very happy to see me and I them. I'm very lucky to have them. This Christmas would be a sad affair without them. Speaking of Christmas, my center's Christmas party is this Saturday. They're making me sing 'Silent Night.' I don't know why events always turn into 'humiliate the foreigner' parties. *sigh*

So, for better or worse, I'm back in China. From where I sit in my tiny room on my rock hard Chinese platform bed, it can only get better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Seriously...Seriously...
Seriously...

....could you imagine seeing this outside your office window everyday?
Don't lean over too much...Don't lean over too much...
Don't lean over too much...

See that totally safe looking yellow balcony? That's where I hang my laundry.
My new workplaceMy new workplace
My new workplace

Fourth floor of the Xinhe Shopping Plaza
Thank you!Thank you!
Thank you!

Not only are there more western toilets (including toilet paper!) but there are also instructions not to stand on the closestool. If I ever find one, I'll know not to stand on it.


20th December 2012

Bad Drivers
I know you have told me that you take your life in your hands trying to cross a street, but it's ridiculous that even the immortal Chinese drivers are equally bad. :) I mean, did he even give the building a chance to jump out of his way?

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb