A Small Taste of Shenzhen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 7th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Takin' a walk 204 secs
A couple of weeks ago I video-taped the short walk from the grocery store to my friend Kim's apartment. I apologize for the shakiness and poor quality. It's just a small cheap camera and I was walking in China, which requires special attention so as to avoid being run over, run into, trampled down, and/or peed on. Everything you see in this short clip is what we see on a daily basis: The people selling balloons, the street hawkers selling junk we don't need, people staring, children saying 'hello', fruit markets, restaurants, bakeries, and traffic, traffic, traffic. I even (totally by accident) got the little girl squatting to pee by a tree. I can be heard on tape saying something to the effect of "I'm not taking a picture of that." I didn't realize I already had. Another good travel tip for those coming to China: Stay on the sidewalk. Do not walk in the dirt surrounding trees, cut through flower beds, or anywhere there is dirt, grass, or plants. This is where children and adults alike relieve themselves. I'm not saying they don't do it on the sidewalks too, just mostly in the dirt.

Advertisement



7th December 2008

Pulled a Chelsea
Ha! Caught in the action! You do it too!
8th December 2008

Darn it!
I was hoping you wouldn't notice that, Chelsea. :) Yes, I do it too. But in my defense, China is very crowded and I was trying to pay attention to the foot traffic, road traffic, and my video camera all at the same time. What's your excuse? :P
10th December 2008

Hey
What ever happened at the dentist? Still toothless?
18th February 2009

Are you sure you're not in NYC??
I swear, it's scary how this looks like a cross between Chinatown, Little Korea and parts of Brooklyn. Well, except for the peeing kid. I've only seen adults peeing in public in NYC. Amazing :)

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb