I survived!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 5th 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

howdy!

This am, at 7 o'clock bright and early, we met, stood around for 30 mn, and then all went to the hospital for exams. Yes, all 120 of us.

We had our eyes and ears checked, EKGs, ultrasounds, x-rays, blood work (after which we could finally eat), pee in a cup and carry it to a tray, blood pressure all checked. The Chinese are excellent at moving crowds along--we were done and gone by 1045. (Well, my group. Some took a bit longer. But that's because groups of Chinese started showing up later on, making the lines longer.)

Had our police interviews this afternoon. They seemed to harass anyone of Asian descent. At least that's the way the stories are coming back. I was asked one question for my entire interview: How long do you plan to teach in China? Yeah, I was nervous about that! HA!

I also got my school assignment. I'm in Nanshan, which has been described as older Ex-Pat heaven. I certainly qualify. I also did get Jr high, which is what I wanted.
At the police station, I met a returnee who lives near where I will (I see that on Sunday). She doesn't know much about the school, but I'm taking it as a good sign that she's heard nothing bad. Supposedly the teacher they had last year got a better job offer in Hong Kong and left early. I'm hoping that works to my advantage and they treat me extra well in order to have me not stray.

Bunch of us are going out tonight. Not sure where.

Tomorrow we're taking field trips to Wall Mart (I've been told that for China, it's upscale shopping) and then a run to get cell phones. Texting costs one Fen a message, which is like the Chinese version of the penny. So every message is about 1/7 of a cent. Calls are a bit more. And I know nothing about international communications yet.

And that's it! I'm feeling better, too, so that's a good thing as well.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb