Shengri Kuai Le - 生日快乐


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 15th 2006
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

4.5 hours in a comfy chair in Starbucks4.5 hours in a comfy chair in Starbucks4.5 hours in a comfy chair in Starbucks

That screams happy birthday to me!
生日快乐- Happy Birthday. I have always been a fan of the birthday, but more and more, a my birthday has been about going to my favorite resturant, having any kind of dessert, and sharing a few good drinks. And for a few moments, I thought I would have to scrap that for this year. I don't really have a favorite resturant, I have many that I enjoy....Dessert isn't a word here....it means fruit, which will cut it when you have eaten to much, but not on your birthday, and getting together for a few "good" drinks during the week generally only means cheap beer from 7//11 with who ever made it to chinese class that day.

So needless to say, my hopes were low and my expectations nill. But I am happy to report that I probably had one of the best days here in china on my birthday.

A good portion was spent at starbucks in a comfy chair.....good
Then it was dinner at my new favorite resturant ....the pyramid (where NO chinese is served)
Even before the bill came, I was off to crash a wonderful party with the Mayor of Shenzhen, Free wine, and all the
The weather outside is freightfulThe weather outside is freightfulThe weather outside is freightful

It rained almost all day long, which meant there were about 25 foreign english teachers camped out in Starbucks....perfect.
most amazing desserts possible.
And still more, it was off to the VBAR, where we danced better than all the chinese all night long to a band that was good......and a chinese michael jackson, that will forever be in my memory.

China always, in the end, surprises you!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Party CrasherParty Crasher
Party Crasher

It was the perfect birthday party, poolside, with white tents, freeflowing wine, ice sculptures....my friends were so kind....to steal me a seat.
Gambei!Gambei!
Gambei!

Finish your class. That is the mayor of Shenzhen, behind Amy, who finished many a glasses of wine that evening.
Lights!Lights!
Lights!

The evenings lightening...not bad?
Dancing QueensDancing Queens
Dancing Queens

Meghan, one of my favorites, dances the night away


27th December 2006

Merry Christmas
Dearest Amanda: I had fun just now catching up on your life in China - hadn't checked out this blog in months. It seems you are happy and your life is very full. Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and all that good stuff.
28th December 2006

But did someone bring you a donut with a candle in bed?
2nd January 2007

aww shit
I missed your birthday. so sorry!!!! there's really no good reason. But I really hope I didn't email you though on your birthday without wishing you happy birthday because I've done that before. to someone else. and they weren't very pleased. Happy New Year by now though. (which I used to know how to say in Chinese, but since I'm not taking class anymore, I forgot).

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb