Guanzhou Part 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
December 29th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

28th of December 2008

5:00am: - I’m woken up by mum scrounging around in the dark because she can’t sleep, its fine as I have gotten eight hours and am pretty refreshed and raring to go. It’s raining outside. So should make for some interesting photographs when we go eventually outside, hopefully I should be able to get internet soon to upload all this, I’m anxious to show you what I have so far.

7:00am: - Bloody starving, apparently the ‘breakfast’ supplied by the hotel for overnight stayers are bread and soymilk. After deciding that, that didn’t sound too appetising, my uncle and I have gone scouring around the area for food. Getting outside the weather is miserable - black and raining, however it is a welcome relief for the inanities of family. Hoorah we managed to cross the road and survive, but my first attempt at using a foreign ATM has proved fruitless. We managed to find a street vendor (thank the heavens!) which sold us a couple of bags of buns, noodles, warm soymilk, and pastries for only about AUD$3! After getting back to the hotel we scoffed the food down and hunkered down for a little bit.

8:00am: - After a very frustrating and boring couple hours with the family, I’ve decided to skip out and take a look at the city, luckily mum has decided to join me and we go out exploring. It occurred to me as I looked outside the hotel that the night sky covered the true amount of grot, dirt and disgusting soot from the pollution; in my mind we had truly entered another world. It’s funny, although China has changed massively in the last six years of my absence, it seems that most things that matter haven’t changed at all, the all familiar grey smog that covers the city, the chaotic traffic, the traffic horns blaring, and the staggering amount of commerce. During the walk we managed to visit what I believe to be the Chinese equivalent of Wal-Mart, I’ve included some pictures.

9:30am: - This one’s for you, Paul. It’s only taken a day and we’ve found the dirty bird! It’s pretty expensive here and the quality is somewhat lacking. Also managed to take some footage of the area to give you guys an idea of what the area looks like, my words just do not give this place the justice it deserves.

10:00am: - We’ve found ourselves into a little dilemma - Grandpa has managed to sit and break one of the tables in our hotel room. We’ve managed the dress it up pretty well, but only time will tell if we get away with this incident. I’ll let you guys know.

12:00pm: - No we didn’t get away with the table incident - but its all good, we paid 300 RMB and off on our way. Back to Guangzhou airport and an uneventful plane ride to Fuzhou.

3:00pm to 9:00pm: - We arrive at Fuzhou, another coastal city. Probably less industrial than Guangzhou but to me all smoggy hazes look alike. Fuzhou feels like home though, we’re staying at my Aunts unit, being in Fuzhou also allows me the unique opportunity to see my Cousin Chenghua who I haven’t seen in six years - man - she’s grown up! Sixteen years old, it’s hard to believe that the last time I saw her was as a innocent ten year old. Another first is I’ve piggy backed onto my first unsecured network of which I am doing this update. The weather has turned bad again so I wont be going out, but since I’ll be spending more time here over the next couple of days - that’s fine - plenty of time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



1st January 2009

lol
lol yay real chicken .... yeah its freaky as when you see ppl like when they were 10 and innocent and then u see them and they are all .... older lol .... lollipops LOLipops lol ... hahaha .... im back at work again *sigh*

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb