Treacherous Cycling Days 11, 12 June, 2014


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Gansu » Zhangye
June 12th 2014
Published: June 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

GREAT WALL CAMP:



Distance: 131 Kms SubT. 2706 Kms Bal 9,775 Kms Road Condition: terrible

Weather: atrocious

Time in Saddle: 8 hrs Av Speed: av. 20 kph. Av Cadence. Rpm

Elevation: 1550 m : Decent 500 m

Calories burned : ?



Today was the worst day. Started out in sunshine, which shortly afterwards turned overcast, then fierce headwinds 40kph min. Evidence of how windy the area was, is by the hundreds of wind turbines.



The road was a constant uphill gradient, so by lunch my energy was zapped, but still had 60 Kms to ride. Two hours later stopped in a remote shop, picture the pub in Werewolves of London and you are close. The scenery was bleak at best all day, again the Moors and Oz outback combined. Then the rain started making the road treacherous, it was already badly potholed and the rain and dust made the surface slippery.



The coke stop rejuvenated me, then 7 Kms out from the finish I had a bad fall. Then run over by the bike slipstreaming me. My bike was buggered, as was I and the other rider. We thought we had each broken collarbones, I also had badly bruised and grazed my right hip and gravel rash down the left leg, arm and a little on the face. We were a little in shock, the cold and the pain of our injuries combined. The other rider, Yol, had a very painful right collarbone. We called in the recovery vehicle which took 45 mins to get to us due to the bad road and weather conditions. We huddled together in a culvert to keep each otter warm, but were frozen when the truck arrived.



When we arrived at camp the conditions had worsened, so we sat in the vehicle drinking boiling water whilst the heater was on.



Thankfully others erected our tents for us. We ate a hot stew, and swallowed ibuprofen and paracetamol to help us sleep, going to bed thinking we had broken bones and our trip was over.



It rained all night. A miserable B.... Hole.



ZHANGYE :



Woke today with light rain. Struggled into other clothes, collapsed the sleeping mat and bag, harder than contemplated, got up and collapsed and packed the tent. Very tiring and painful.



Today I rode the bus all day. Doug the bike mechanic fixed my bike, binding the brake and gear leavers to the handle bar by strong rubber bands. He believes it will hold. Hopefully he is correct. I have witnessed him perform some minor miracles with other's bikes!



On leaving camp the truck I was on and the other truck became heavily bogged. We all got heavily muddied trying to recover traction. After an hour we were clear. The riders also had a treacherous journey for 5 Kms leaving camp and after a few minor falls, each walked their bikes to the "main" road. Seeing them on hotel arrival they were heavily coated in mud and exhaust fume dust.



This afternoon Yol and I went to the local hospital for X-rays. Mine was good, no fracture, just badly bruised. So 5 days in the bus then a few half days. My biggest concern now is the corrugated roads and the shoulder jarring. Yol was not so fortunate, and her riding appears to be over, at least for the next 2 months, as she must wear an arm sling to ease the damaged shoulder ligaments. She will require an operation when she returns home unfortunately. Hospital service was good and cheap, for me all included AUD 15-. However not sure I would like to be hospitalised here!!



On route to the hospital saw an amazing teak pagoda and the shrine to a reclining Buddha.



Found a warming coffee afterwards to reflect on my good fortune.



Tomorrow we camp again, and again rain is forecast. We thought a desert would be sunny and hot!

Advertisement



13th June 2014

treacherous ride
Wow, I'm glad to hear u will be fine tho. Don't think I'll tell mum this one! !!So sorry for oother rider Yol. .hope she will be ok and try again later. Am enjoying ur posts immensely. Be safe xx B
13th June 2014

Dig Deep Rog
I've just caught up on the latest and so sorry to hear of this, but happy for you that the prognosis is good, and 5 days you should be back on the bike. This is stuff made for documentaries, and reality TV, but it would be better if it was some unknown actor/participant, not the one and only Roger Keith Hesford! Dig deep Roger - you've got amazing reserves to draw upon. Best wishes, A,B,M&A xxx (and Bella - woof).
27th June 2014

You think you are having it tough !
Just got back from cycling in the Cotswolds and caught up with your blogs. My end stayed in a hotel in Stow on the Wolds with en suite facilities , cycled 50 miles on gentle hills with my mates and what I burnt off in calories was easily undone by the cream tea stops and huge nighttime quantities of beer. Where to start with you - sorry to hear about the fall but sounds like you are now nearly recovered. The camping, conditions and weight loss are all lots for you to contend with . But you are correct about the stars - must have been amazing. Incredible highs and lows I should imagine. You do make me think that I should be a touch more adventurous than the Cotswolds ! Anyway I think that you are doing amazingly well and am hugely impressed and indeed inspired by what you are doing . Onwards and upwards. Peter
27th June 2014

You think you are having it tough !
Just got back from cycling in the Cotswolds and caught up with your blogs. My end stayed in a hotel in Stow on the Wolds with en suite facilities , cycled 50 miles on gentle hills with my mates and what I burnt off in calories was easily undone by the cream tea stops and huge nighttime quantities of beer. Where to start with you - sorry to hear about the fall but sounds like you are now nearly recovered. The camping, conditions and weight loss are all lots for you to contend with . But you are correct about the stars - must have been amazing. Incredible highs and lows I should imagine. You do make me think that I should be a touch more adventurous than the Cotswolds ! Anyway I think that you are doing amazingly well and am hugely impressed and indeed inspired by what you are doing . Onwards and upwards. Peter
27th June 2014

You think you are having it tough !
Just got back from cycling in the Cotswolds and caught up with your blogs. My end stayed in a hotel in Stow on the Wolds with en suite facilities , cycled 50 miles on gentle hills with my mates and what I burnt off in calories was easily undone by the cream tea stops and huge nighttime quantities of beer. Where to start with you - sorry to hear about the fall but sounds like you are now nearly recovered. The camping, conditions and weight loss are all lots for you to contend with . But you are correct about the stars - must have been amazing. Incredible highs and lows I should imagine. You do make me think that I should be a touch more adventurous than the Cotswolds ! Anyway I think that you are doing amazingly well and am hugely impressed and indeed inspired by what you are doing . Onwards and upwards. Peter
27th June 2014

You think you are having it tough !
Just got back from cycling in the Cotswolds and caught up with your blogs. My end stayed in a hotel in Stow on the Wolds with en suite facilities , cycled 50 miles on gentle hills with my mates and what I burnt off in calories was easily undone by the cream tea stops and huge nighttime quantities of beer. Where to start with you - sorry to hear about the fall but sounds like you are now nearly recovered. The camping, conditions and weight loss are all lots for you to contend with . But you are correct about the stars - must have been amazing. Incredible highs and lows I should imagine. You do make me think that I should be a touch more adventurous than the Cotswolds ! Anyway I think that you are doing amazingly well and am hugely impressed and indeed inspired by what you are doing . Onwards and upwards. Peter
28th June 2014

Cotswolds
Hi Peter, I got your message, in fact 4 times!! If I had another choice the Cotswolds would be it. This is not much fun, just gruelling. Getting daily puncture due to crappy road surfaces, little sleep as camps beside highway with I am sure 500 trucks per night passing. Roll on September. Cheers and enjoy the tea. Roger

Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb