First Day...OFF TO SAMARKAND


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Gansu » Dunhuang
July 1st 1370
Published: October 24th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 1

Beginning in Dunhuang..Hope to make it to Turfan by the winter so that I can find shelter...

This is where my journey begins...just outside the ]Caves of Dunhuang.

I have come here for inspiration.It's amazing that these caves and inscriptions escaped the Buddhist persecution period during the Tang Dynasty. But, we are located pretty far inward from the cities of the Tang Dynasty so perhaps that's why these were spared. Of course, the process of Southernization converted the trade to a more maritime trade which is where the Tang emperors focused their anti Buddhist stance. This will be my final viewing of inspiration as I sit here and think about the journey that this man once made.... I'm going in search of my own Enlightenment. Turfan will be my first stop....looking forward to seeing what I come across.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb