Beijing-a-ling-a-ding-dong


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 10th 2016
Published: March 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Two flights of around 12 hours split by a stopover in Beijing of 9 hours. Doesn't seem so bad when it's written down in just one sentence does it? Trust me, if you can't sleep on a plane it's a killer! Luckily my crafty seat selections worked on both flights. Most people are flying with someone else and usually go to great lengths to ensure they are sitting together so putting myself in a two-seater isle seat virtually guarantees some extra legroom IF the flight isn't fully booked. I was supposed to get 4 hours free room time in the pay by the hour hotel IN the airport but the stupid Air China guy who I'd emailed about it had booked me into the Transit hotel outside the airport not the Transit lounge inside and there was no way I was going through horrendously lengthy security twice so I reluctantly coughed up some Yuan for the convenience factor of some quick shut eye. The twenty five staff at the virtually deserted transit lounge reception did try to sort it all out with Air China and were partially successful as they did manage to rebook my return journey stopover with them.

Apart from the bliss of my room at the transit lounge the rest of my stay at Beijing airport was spent shivering in air conditioned emptiness. It would've been lovely and quiet with so few people about, but unfortunately it was deemed necessary to pipe pop jazz classics played in the style of my kid's sample tunes on their keyboard....DJ!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb