A grand (and free) tour of Beijing! (Part 2)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
January 2nd 2011
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'll try to make this brief, because I have no time at all!

Also, I'll post pictures of the Forbidden City later, because they're on Jia's camera.

We visited an old-Beijing style street, where I had pig intestines for breakfast. It was so good!
We then visited Yonghegong, a temple devoted to the largest Buddha statues in Beijing. I could not take any pictures of the Buddhas, because it is disrespectul, but that's okay!

That night, we went through Dashilar, an old-Beijing style street full of food vendors and cheap local items. I tried (and loved) Bingtang Hulu, a famous local treat. It's probably my favorite!

The next morning, we visited Wangfujing, which is similar to Dashilar. I got to eat scorpion on a stick! Even Beijing local said I was brave!



Additional photos below
Photos: 197, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Old-style Beijing street.Old-style Beijing street.
Old-style Beijing street.

It means "I'm panda." Haha.
SIchuan restaurant.SIchuan restaurant.
SIchuan restaurant.

Where I ate pig intestines.
Old-style Beijing.Old-style Beijing.
Old-style Beijing.

The bikes here are awesome!
Sichuan restaurant.Sichuan restaurant.
Sichuan restaurant.

Pig intestines!
Sichuan restaurant.Sichuan restaurant.
Sichuan restaurant.

It wasn't that bad!
Sichuan restaurant.Sichuan restaurant.
Sichuan restaurant.

Pineapple chicken.
In a taxi.In a taxi.
In a taxi.

Old and new Beijing in one!
Yonghegong Lama Temple.Yonghegong Lama Temple.
Yonghegong Lama Temple.

Everywhere has so much detail...


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb