KTV+Lǎo​bǎn​ Turkies+Barmaids=Christmas?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
December 28th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What Song?What Song?What Song?

Choosing how best to humiliate ourselves.
I'm not back for Christmas... you won't notice me. You'll have rain: a drizzly pain, and presents under the tree...

Strange to believe I have heralded in my second Christmas in Beijing. How short the year seems to be one again beholding my little plastic, blow-up tree, a tacky strand of lights draped over the tv, and have the gerbilish version of "We Wish You a Merry Christmas" and "Jingle Bells" (sung in Chinese) blasting out from shops and restaurants.

What did the holiday hold for Jennifer Lindsie? Thus far there has been a shortage of ridiculous festive work; which (I admit) isn't altogether disappointing. Finances, though always tight, aren't in the dire straights they were and I was hoping for a more quietly productive vacation. I have been attending some intensive Chinese classes during the mornings/afternoons and plan to become absolutely brilliant at this distressingly difficult language! It's been really exciting to notice my vocabulary being built up and my receptive understanding gradually increasing. Yay!

The Winter Break was met with a great deal of enthusiasm from the staff at IVY. We were in a giddy blur that final week of classes and more excitable than the children that final Friday. For our staff X-Mas party we went to those most classic of Chinese establishments to enjoy a KTV Christmas. The Chinese staff all proved to be the most brilliant of singers and put the English staff to shame. We remained good sports until we discovered that one of our security men had been filming the entire spectacle... which caused most of us to retreat and melt into pools of embarrassment. I rallied my spirits only when the popular O-Zone song "Dragostea Din Tei" blared forth. It turned out to be the Chinese lyric version and I ended up finding myself in the middle of a song battle as we both attempted to drown out the other with opposing language's lyrics. (*cough*cough... I won). Further hilarity was had during our staff gift exchange. Some items were more colorful than others and caused many a blushed cheek.

The 24th was spent biking around, brunching, shopping, and resulted (of course) in Ms. Bristow losing her keys. I truly have no idea how I continue to be so brilliant at this feat. (I need a new talent). I remain hopeful that someone will return them to Moma, but soon I will have to bite the bullet and make new ones. Sigh. I later made my way over to a little hutong bar quite near and dear and a huge group of friends enjoyed a potluck x-mas buffet. The lǎo​bǎn​ had been so gracious to provide turkey for the dinner crew and everyone else brought something to add. I swear it was a magnificent feast and the shear mounds of food overpowered the little bar. In/on every conceivable area people were perched... munching away with fork, spoon, knife or chopstick. I gradually turned the dining into dancing and we grooved away to some swinging season songs. My Christmas dinner on the 25th was spent indulging in scrumptious Russian fare and vodka (На здоровье!). I joined the Finnish crew at 2Kolegas for a fantastic evening of live swing and rock bands. Altogether a fine way to spent the holiday.

The winds have been whistling rather fiercely as of late, which has made puttering around on my vespa or even bicycle a tricky venture! Sometimes it feels as if the wind will topple you over at any moment and in the middle of Beijing traffic, that can be a worrisome reality. I have been doing much more walking and hope to soon take my bike out again.

Latest and Greatest achievement? I am now a part-time barmaid at Café de la Poste which is the self-proclaimed "Frenchiest" place in Beijing. That's right/random. I was in this establishment a week or so ago with a friend that occasionally lends a hand there. We get to chatting about the place and she casually suggested that I look into if they are seeking out new staff. I got ahold of the manager's number, set up an interview and decided not to lie about my accomplishments. I was very honest and stated I am not bilingual and have never worked a bar in my life. He just laughed and told me to begin Wednesday. I have now worked two shifts (with two more coming up this week). I love it! I meet all kinds of interesting people, the staff there is like a cozy family and I'm learning how the French like to flavor their bière with syrup... it's weird in a increasingly good way. So I hope to improve and pick-up more French and improve my Chinese all at the same time. The kitchen and majority of the serving staff is Chinese and the managers and other bartenders are French so I have ample opportunities for both. Come to Beijing friends and family... I will pour you a pastis!

Bisous!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

????????
????

We still don't know what Xiao Mei received.


Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb