Back on the Web


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 18th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all!

Life in Beijing is going well, and I'm glad to finally be posting again!

The last couple of weeks have been extremely busy. It's been way too long since I've posted, and too much has happened for me to write it all down. I should probably start where I left off, which was on my group's 3 day excursion that happened a week or two ago (honestly, I've totally lost track of all time, here).

The trip to Xi'an was great. I don't want to sound too touristy here, but my favorite part was definately visiting the terracotta warriors. After seeing tons of pictures of them, in textbooks, and brochures, and posters, I didn't expect seeing the real thing to be as exciting as it was. I took about thirty thousand pictures. I also got to see the man who discovered the terracotta warriors, while he was farming, many years back. When we visited, he was sitting at a table, autographing books. I waved to him, and he nodded back. Another highlight of the trip was going to see the drum show at the Xi'an Drum Tower, and approaching one of the drummers afterwards as she
PianoPianoPiano

Despite the fact that neither my host sisters, nor I play the piano, there is one in my room. I think it's really pretty. This is a picture of the back of my room.
was practicing. Mr. Yellen and I decided to tell her (in Chinese, of course) that her drumming was very good. It was all we could think of to say, due to our lack of language skills, but we were excited to even figure out how to say that. The woman was very nice, and let us take pictures with her and use her drum. It was an exciting moment.

Since I've been back I've been touring the city, doing a lot of shopping with my group (never really buying anything but enjoying the low prices nonetheless), eating with my family and, as always, learning many many Chinese vocab words. Most of the words I've learned so far have been names of different foods, because one of the best ways for me to communicate with my host parents over dinner is for them to point to all the different foods, and tell me how to say them in Mandarin. I've also learned a lot of key phrases, though, such as "I understand," "I don't understand," "I don't want/need any," and many more along the same lines. My family is always really impressed whenever I say anything in Chinese, and when I understand what they're saying. They think I'm smart, because I've a) learned to use some key words and phrases, and b)learned to navigate the subway system here. I find it really funny because I still speak an extremely small amount of Chinese and barely understand anything they say, and also because the subway system is ridiculously easy to navigate.

The family has installed internet in our house! I feel bad that they're going through all this trouble for me, but I'm also very, very happy to finally be updating again, since they haven't been asking me if I want to go to my host dad's office, lately.

So, please enjoy this new blog, and feel free to comment, or subscribe, or whatever. I'm looking forward to hearing from everybody.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

ApartmentApartment
Apartment

My apartment is the short one on the left.


18th February 2006

your room is sooo pretty jill! (i like this travel blog better, because it allows comments!)
18th February 2006

Yay for Travel Blog
Dearest sister, I'm very excited about this new blog! It's great to finally be able to see your room, too. It's gorgeous. Are you looking out over a river, like in Lyon? I miss being able to call you at random times, bu it's much more fun to think of you starting school in China than back at Newton South. I'll be emailing soon!
20th February 2006

Love hearing about Xi'an
Hi Jill, I can't believe you got to Xi'an as well. Did you take a train or fly? We flew but took the train ot Louyan. I hope you get to go there as well. Isn't it amazing seening those clay soldiers. You are so lucky to meet one of the farmers. Did they have the kite fliers in Xi'an? Did you get to the mosque through the bazaar? Love, Aunt Heidi

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb