One week down


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 31st 2009
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

12.50pm Beijing time

I'm back after nearly a 6 day hiatus. We have been so busy here that finding the time to sit down and write some lines just hasn't been possible (well it most probably has but this blogging lark is more effort than you think). So, right, ahem, having trouble remembering anything that I have done in any kind of coherent order so I will start with the obvious..We now have a flat, and what a darling she is. I haven't managed to sort out my camera yet but some snaps of her in all her naked splendour will be soon for those that way inclined. The bedrooms differ in size, metaphorically ranging from the size of China to the size of the UK. Nevertheless, we decided on a rotation policy which has myself occupying the largest room with lovely red curtains, or what I like to call 'The Pimp Room' (naturally the only pimping going on is of the pimple variety). I have this for 6 weeks so if anyone is coming to stay now is the time..

Beida itself is really quite great. It is akin to what I imagine an old foreign concession would be like, with walls surrounding an enclosure that provides everything one needs to survive, whilst also having an endearing array of both modern and classical Chinese architecture. I have learnt more in classes held here in a week than I have done in the past 3 months. All classes are taught entirely in Mandarin so we are being forced to learn by necessity - which is good. I am also starting to rekindle relations with the gym under the guidance of Julian, who is maybe 9 times stronger than myself. Thus, lifting my arms above waist level has been a great struggle for the last week. I blame this for losing my wallet a few nights ago, leaving me with less cash than the beggar I gave my last 5yuan to.

The nightlife here is good, the beer is cheap, and the substitutes for kebabs aplenty. The pub quiz is tonight where we hope to improve on a rather disappointing 5th place.

Advertisement



4th April 2009

You Gooner!!
Hey, How ya doin,it's Pierre Here - Hope all is goin well and you are now fluent in Mandarin!! The bad news is that City lost away again today! the good news for you is that it was at the Emirates!. We are at Rick and Tracy's at the mo for Jess's 21st and we are all slightly anebriated or in other words PISSED!! hope you are having a great time and not missing the Brooklands life too much. See you soon mate and mind how you go - Pete
6th April 2009

aha,aha,aha
"whilst also having an endearing array of both modern and classical Chinese architecture." You sound like a Lonely Planet... But that's a minor gripe. Hope all's well; finding your feet etc...getting said foot in 'the door', then kicking proverbial ass with aforementioned foot. Try not to lose this camera. I mean, I know I am hardly one to ever be able to comment on anything of this nature, but, we have both felt the bitter pangs of loss and from one loser to another, well, y'know... p.s. keep up the florid lexicon, girls are mechanical bots, we're poets. Peace

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb