"If we wake up at 5am, that will give us...maybe... five more hours to sleep."


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"That should be just enough time to get ready for our day." -- We are getting really tired of this big city. It's good we get a break almost exactly halfway through our trip, but I want to Get Out Of CHINA!! I know Tibet is still China, but getting there will mean I am one step closer to getting out of this country.
We should have our permits tomrrow night. Then we can book a flight to Lhasa for Saturday morning. It's only about a four hour flight, which is much better than the 48 hour train ride it would be. The price is much larger, but I don't care. I would rather get to the places I want to see and not the inside of a train for two days.
I have heard many good things about Tibet and am really excited. I am just not excited about spending a rediculas amount of money crossing the boarder into Nepal. I haven't done too much reading about it, but the things I have read all say that another permit must be purchased. Then its a matter of getting transportion to the boarder. I hear there are busses, but then I hear they have stopped, or don't run this time of year. So we have some information to start reading about. I don't want to get stuck in another city and not be able to get out.
We are half way through our trip, and we have seen 18 cities. That means at our current rate we should be able to see the other 15 cities I want to see. Not taking into account the amount of distance we are going to cover relative, but I will worry about that when it comes up. All I know for sure, is that August seventh I need to be in Singapore, in the Airport, getting on a plane home! Haha! So that is the only thing I really know.
I still want to see Nepal, India, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Thailand, Maylasia, and of course Singapore. I know I can't see all of those coutries, and I know I can't see anything close to everything they have to offer. But I am after the big things: The Taj Mahal, Ankor Wat, Thailand Beaches, Singapore's International Airport... These are the things I am interested in. Noone could ever see what a whole country has to offer in one trip, so why not just see the big things so if you like what you saw, you can come back and see more? I like that idea personally. And then, I guess thats why I'm doing it.
Randy and I have subjected ourselves to all types of weird food, customs, and many things that arn't perticularly what we would choose. But we really wanted to experiance something different today. I couldn't tell you the last time I ate at McDonalds'. I know it hasn't been in the last 3-4 years for sure, but my memory gets a little blurry after that. Randy is the same. And so, being adventurers such as we are, we decided after much thought and debate that we would eat at McDonalds and discover what the World loves in this resturante.
As we approched the counter, we trembled under the pressure of the large menu, all in Chinnesse of course. It was massive! With huge hamburgers and body sized french-fries. We didn't know what to order, untill we noticed a smaller menu laid on the counter with pictures and english names below them. When I saw "Double Big Mac with Cheese" I knew what I was getting. And Randy the same. It was the cheapest meal we have gotten in quite a while. It was also the fastest and it was really pretty good. That was untill our stomachs could not handle the fat content and made us kind of sick. But all in all I thought it was a decient meal. The milkshake at the end was expercially good, and that is the only thing I could ever see myself ordering from there again.
After that tramatic experiance it was off to the internet cafe' so I could tell you about it. As for our plans the rest of the day they consist of nothing really. Maybe another meal for dinner, a good long shower, and whatever else our hearts desier. Well I have to go, but this place doesn't let us use the USB plug so I can't put pictures up yet, but I will do my best.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb