The international language of sport


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » XiCheng District
May 29th 2012
Published: May 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

With the Olympics just around the corner, it's always interesting to consider the things that we all share in common, no matter what language we speak. I just got back from the skating rink and it amazes me how I can just walk into a skating rink anywhere in the world and not even realize I'm in a foreign country. Sure, everyone else is Chinese. And the lessons on the ice are all in a language I don't understand. But when I'm out there, everyone understands eachother. We know what other people are working on, even if we call it a different name. We can tell when someone's having a good day or a bad day at the rink. We know how to look out for someone who's music is on or who's setting up for a jump or is in the middle of something.

It's pretty cool. I'm really excited to watch the Olympics here and be part of the celebration of human achievement, even if I don't understand what the announcers are saying on CCTV.

More stories coming very soon!

-Dafne

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb