Beijing, Beijing, wo ai Beijing (or more so than I did yesterday!)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
June 30th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A MUCH better day today. For a start, MY BACKPACK ARRIVED!!!! Went downstairs in the morning just on the off-chance, and there it was! Minus a minor hand sanitiser explosion, all is well with it, although I'm definitely keeping those 'Quick Transfer' and 'Expidite This Baggage' labels (aye RIGHT) as war medals!

So I had a pretty nice morning of generally looking at outfits that weren't my travelling outfit, and having a good long shower (a cool shower...!), then headed to Tiananmen Square. Was pretty buzzing, lots of people, lots of staring but was all good... funniest moment was definitely when a tiny child just about sparked a major incident by making a break for the Chinese flag in front of the Forbidden City! Suddenly there was police everywhere, and a highly embarrassed mum! The only thing that's a shame about Beijing is the smog - it's so hard to take decent pictures and you literally see the sun twice every day. The last time I was here it was so much nicer!

After grabbing a massive bottle of Sprite and some JAY CHOU CRISPS (oh yes... the obsession has reignited!!!!!) I headed to Wangfujing, the major shopping street here (or one of them, anyway...) - successfully negotiated the Metro solo (20p for a journey - pushing the boat out here) and wandered around in search of a memory card - hadn't realised how big a card my new camera needs so am looking for a 2gb+. Got offered a 4gb for RMB200 or around 20 pounds (no pound sign, aargh!) which seems to be roughly the going rate on most websites (except Amazon, of course!) so will go back tomorrow, try it out in my camera and then try to haggle them down a bit!

Pretty sure at least two people attempted to scam me today - definitely one of them, cos she was pulling the "Do you want to come and see some art, this way, five minutes?" thing but I just ran away into a bookshop :P Bookseller through-and-through... always seek solace in a bookshop! It's pretty easy to shake off would-be scammers mind you, so tis all good. Apparently Xi'an is a bit worse in terms of people/attempted pickpocketers, but will keep my wits about me!

Really not too much beyond that to report. Looking forward to a good sleep tonight, and a pretty busy day tomorrow - perhaps if I tire myself out I'll actually get some sleep on this train to Xi'an!

Jen x

Advertisement



6th July 2010

HAHAH, jay chou crisps!! So jealous! x x

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb