Olympic Park only at half mast


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Olympic Park
February 15th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After another lovely breakfast at Sakura Cafe (I think this is where we spent most of our money while in Beijing) we got on the metro and headed to Olympic Park, which required us to change lines about four times I think. It's easy though. The Beijing metro is 2RMB per trip, no matter how far you go, and the maps are excellent. Olympic Park has three stops of its own and its own metro line! I went there with my sister last May, but for some reason we didn't know you could get all the way there on the metro. We ended up taking a taxi part of the way. The metro is easier. It doesn't try to rip you off.

When we arrived, we tried to get tickets to see the inside of the aqua cube, but it was closed! I was so disappointed! I saw it before, but it was so cool and I really wanted Enis to see it. I don't know why it was closed, but it was. So we moved on to the Bird's Nest and I was suprised to find a whole winter wonderland inside. Beijing had a lot of snow this year and out on the field there were snow sculptures and tube slides and ice skating. It was really cool, but expensive to actually walk down there so we didn't. We took pictures from above. It costs 50RMB to enter the Bird's Nest, and it was 30RMB to enter the aqua cube when I went in before.

We spent a couple of hours total in the park, and then we'd had enough. It was crowded and getting there and back made me tired. We splurged on the way back to our hotel and had a long, relaxing dinner at Outback Steakhouse. Yum!!!!!! Enis had his first bloomin' onion. They don't have the famed wallaby darned on the menu though. What's that about? We sat there for a long time, then walked down Wangfujing Street, which was way too crowded for me.

Finally, we go to the Great Wall tomorrow! Yeh!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Enis insideEnis inside
Enis inside

Enis really likes to have his picture taken. Proof that he's been here.
Tube SlidesTube Slides
Tube Slides

They weren't very steep but they were slick!


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb