Journey to the West


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Olympic Park
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BreakfastBreakfastBreakfast

A princely breakfast of pancakes and maple syrup in the making on the morning of my departure. Thanks Alan!
Dear all -

For months I have been going on about my grand plans to travel overland from China to Europe. It's now April 2009, the time has finally come to tear myself away from Beijing and embark on my voyage home.

Previously my trips between Europe and Beijing have involved a couple of hours waiting in an airport lounge, ten hours on a plane being fed and entertained, and a short car ride to my house. Swift, comfortable and generally not much to write home about. Time for a more interesting way to get home, I thought, as a final celebration of four years of living in China.

The idea is to get home entirely overland: no planes allowed, only trains, busses, mini-cabs and perhaps a camel or two if I can manage to stay put on one. From Beijing across western China, into central Asia, over the Caspian Sea, through the Caucasus, along the Black Sea coast to the Mediterranean and home from there. Revisiting the ancient Silk Road, as it were, and a few places left and right of it.

The journey is to take 80 days - not quite around the world, but
Beijing WestBeijing WestBeijing West

The Saturday afternoon crowd at Beijing West Railway Station.
then I don't have Scotland Yard nipping at my heels. There will certainly be some tricky border crossings, and some of my intended forms of transportation do not appear to even have a schedule, let alone run on time, but according to FCO travel advice everywhere I plan to go is safe, and I have a bit time to spare in case my boat to Baku is delayed. With a bit of luck I'll make it to Luxembourg in time for Grand-Duke's birthday.

I may tend to struggle with merged cells and text boxes, but I am determined to make an entry into the blogosphere to keep in touch, let you know where I am and share some impressions from along the way. Equally, you may keep in touch with me and keep me entertained as I make my way through foreign lands. I shall attempt to write as regularly as possible, though I hear the internet is a bit sketchy between Ashgabat and Turkmenbashi. If you don't hear from me for a few days it's more likely I'm busy haggling over prices in the markets of Samarkand or trapsing across the mountains of Georgia rather than in any
Outside the stationOutside the stationOutside the station

My seasoned travel companion Yuchi is joining me for the first portion of this trip. She has previously survived horseback riding in Inner Mongolia with me, let's hope she survives this one too.
serious trouble.

I am about to leave by overnight train to Pingyao and then Xi'an, one of the great ancient capitals of China and starting point of the Silk Road. The adventure starts here!


Advertisement



12th April 2009

Good luck!
I have dreamed of taking the Silk Road from Europe to China (or vice versa), so when I came across your blog, and at the very beginning of your adventure, I had to subscribe. I, along with my Mom, sister, and son, will be in Xian at the end of May, but will only do the first part of the Silk Road to Lanzhou, with a side trip to the Tibetan monastary of Labrang (in Xiahe). I don't know if you will be making this side trip, but if you try, please let me know if there are any travel restrictions remaining. Again, I look forward to reading your daily experiences.
14th April 2009

Good luck man - don't forget to leave those practical 'wish I'd known this before' kind of tips for those following in hot pursuit!
20th April 2009

Roles reversed
Hey Zhu lian! now almost exactly 3 years later, it's time for ME to be at work reading about YOUR intrepid travels! :) say hi to zhou jie lun and pan wei bo if you happen to bump into them on the silk road ;) love yzxx
23rd April 2009

Good luck
Good luck! Very good news that you'll be back in the West (and hopefully in London??) in 80 days or so... I'm very jealouse of your travels. Claire
23rd April 2009

:)
Hi Julian, Sounds like a fantastic trip, lucky lucky you!! Enjoy!! Jessica
24th April 2009

Amazing!!!!
I am going to become your fan to read all your advantures in the well-organized office where I try my best to keep my freedom and wild ambition of advantures!
21st May 2009

Good boos
hello sir i am Khalid khan from Pakistan i love jurny from one country to other i invite to my village in pakistan you feel very good tore contact to me

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb