Beijing- no scooters, no Archery player and where is my credit card?!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Olympic Park
September 10th 2008
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Beijing.. a dream come true

2 hour plane ride from shanghai to beijing

Good Morning Beijing!

After flying on a plane thats "belly camera" was on during most of the flight-"Belly camera -What's a belly camera? " A Belly camera is a camera on the belly of the aircraft that films what's happening underneath the plane during the flight. This camera is on from before takeoff to after landing. That means that I was watching how the runway disappeared as we were taking off and how the new runway appeared a little too quickly as we were landing. I wanted to complain that this belly view of the world was not good for my nerves but instead I just flew with the blanket over my head. Jeff thought it was cool.

I started my day staring at a rug in the elevator that said THURSDAY in English and Chinese. It took me a few minutes to figure out that it actually was Thursday. "How did they do that?" I asked and then preceeded in trying to lift the Thursday with my hand (no one was in the elevator with me except for the hidden camera) after a few minutes of elevator travel I realized that they put a different rug every day
I guess she couldnt read englishI guess she couldnt read englishI guess she couldnt read english

I asked someone to take a picture of me. she didnt understand that wanted the sign and me
in the elevator. Isn't that cool -you can never get confused.

A few of you might remember that I spent a tremendous amount of time looking for tickets to the paralympics. I really love the Olympics and during my 23 years of marriage Jeff knows that every four years I stop functioning as I watch every competition that is on T.V.

I really wanted to attend a competition so I could cheer for an Israeli athlete. I found an Archery competition that was to take place on Thursday morning. I bought the ticket online and was sent an email that I could pick up the colorful admission ticket at the Bank of China in Beijing. Well, when I was in Shanghai I figured I could go to a Bank of China and get the ticket in Shanghai so I wouldnt be hassled . Talk about going out of the box, the Chinese bankers went out of their box trying to understand why I didnt go to Beijing to get my ticket. They stayed in their box and I had to pick up the ticket in Beijing. I was rushed the competiton started at 9:30! Luckily across from the hotel was a Bank of China and to make a long story short, 20 minutes later I was in a cab! yes a cab! and you know why? Because in Beijing there are no scooters. I havent seen one. Just quiet noise. No one risking their life to cross a street.

The half an hour taxi ride gave me time to take in the city. Beijing is to Shanghai as Denver to NYC and as Jerusalem is to Tel Aviv.

The birds nest and the water cube came to view with no warning and all I could say was AHHH.

Security checks and volunteers greeting me with a "good morning and enjoy the games" at every corner as I strolled to the Archery venue. Approaching the venue I felt the beat of pop music and cheering. I entered the venue to see groups and groups of teanagers all dressed in unison who's job seemed to be to cheer and create an explosive atmosphere . They were lead by a head cheer leader who yelled at the kids and expected them to follow her every hand and foot movement. They did!
I decided to sit next to
The electonic TargetsThe electonic TargetsThe electonic Targets

you here a little "click" and then you see the score on the bored
them with my Israeli flag in hand ready to wave. After understanding all the score boards and rules I too cheered especially for the USA team. I waited and got excited before each new competition waiting for the Israeli Archery to enter -I think I got the wrong competition. An hour and half later my flag back in my bag-and I'm hungry and go to the new kosher Glatt resturaunt, Dini's.



" Now where is my credit card?" Trying not to panick.. but I am panicked. I tell mister Dini I will pay for the shabbat meals tomorrow and off I go trying to think Where could my life line be?

I walked into the bank praying someone would understand me today. G-d was on my side. The first women I talked to understood me first time around and I had to do everything to control myself from kissing the bank manager as he handed me my visa. I had forgotton to take the card out of the ATM.

IT'S TOO RELAXED HERE IN BEIJING, IT CONFUSED ME!

I walked into our hotel room and with a huge smiled said "Guess what Jeff?"
Serious stuffSerious stuffSerious stuff

Arrows, Bows, Telescopes and coaches
I found my visa!" He looked at me and said "I dont understand" let's keep it that way...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

cheerleaderscheerleaders
cheerleaders

In the stands are groups and groups of Chinese teenagers. Each group has a person who directs the cheers.. I almost joined in with them.
Moving house.. Moving house..
Moving house..

Might take some time !
NOTICE THE SKYLINE.NOTICE THE SKYLINE.
NOTICE THE SKYLINE.

very few if any skyscrappers.


Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb