Beijing's Olympians and my Olympic effort up Mutianyu's great wall !!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Mutianyu
October 7th 2012
Published: October 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Great WallThe Great WallThe Great Wall

Good little communist !!
Day 26 (Mon 1stOct)


Another night train took me from Shanghai to Beijing although this one far more successful. A soft sleeper and not a hard sleeper meant a bigger bed and more space, 4 in a room not 6 and the luxury of a door. It was spot on. On arriving in Beijing the girl on the opposite side to my bed decided to let on she spoke English, shame she didn’t do it 11 hours earlier as those trains do get pretty boring. We got chatting and headed off the train and into the Subway. We exchanged details as is happening a lot more now with people, as I’m getting more used to the travelling thing. Arrived at the correct Subway and made my way to the hostel after going the wrong way initially.

Checked in and went to the room, well I say room. It’s a container or shed or shelter, not sure what to call it. The door doesn’t lock or even shut properly, the other side of the handle sort of prevents it opening, the bed is thin and rock hard, the pillow and poor bean bag effort, the locker is the only thing that works. Now the rest of the hostel is nice, I’m feeling they’ve overbooked or something. Looking at reviews a couple people recently seem to have been put here. I may well not see out the 6 days due here.

I decided to check out Tian’anmen square at lunch. Terrible idea as it’s Chinese national day, which I didn’t know and it was bombarded with people, lasted an hour, got fed up of being in a queue, getting pushed around so went back to the hostel for a kip, somehow I managed an hour or so.

Figured I’d give Tian’anmen another go in the evening, slightly easier to navigate and it does look mighty impressive lit up. I shall take my camera back later in the week when it’s calmed down.

Tried to get an early night, didn’t happen. Woken various times by staff that seem to be sleeping in the other half of the room behind some frosted glass, turning the lights on. Not happy.


Day 27 (Tues 2nd Oct)



Today was the Great Wall day. Thought it would be wise to get out of the city and away from
The Great WallThe Great WallThe Great Wall

Tsingtao to celebrate a job well done.
the mental crowds I’d seen so far in Beijing. I woke at half 5, obviously not my choice but I was due to wake up at 6 anyways. Headed to Dongzhimen station where I believed the bus to be going from. I found it eventually, not the easiest spot considering the Great Wall is kind of a big thing. 3 hours later I ended up in Mutianyu, a spot of the wall considered less touristy than the more famous Badaling bit of the wall. Bought my ticket and decided against the cable car, didn’t want to cheat. I was pretty tired even when I got to the wall, let alone after 4 hours walking/climbing over it. I first went east to the end of the section and then headed all the way west. Now the internet tells me its only 1.5 miles but having done it and been there all day I can’t see how this is right. Maybe because most of the time is spent going very steep up hills or very steep downhill’s. It might be 1.5 miles as the crow flies but trust me it’s far harder than that. Some of the sections are near vertical and
The Great WallThe Great WallThe Great Wall

Creative effort once again
was very risky stopping on any steep section, as if you turned round you got dizzy.

After a couple of hours I stopped next to a couple of American lads, who were also dying with exhaustion. We got chatting and carried on further up the wall. We made it to the end of the tourist section and went a few more towers further as we were there, so might as well. Even further up hill, pretty much at the highest point we could see, the tourists thinned out and it was peaceful. We bought a Tsingtao each of a vendor to celebrate and enjoy the view which is spectacular, only slightly hindered by Beijing’s smog in the distance, seems a little hazy. We made the trip back down in obvious quicker times although the pain in my legs tells me going down was harder. I’m really not looking forward to trying to sleep tonight.

Me and now 4 American’s got a taxi back to Beijing to avail of the bus again. We paid like 3 times more than the bus but took half the time and as we were all shattered it made sense. Got a chicken breast
The Great WallThe Great WallThe Great Wall

Huge Steps
sandwich, although the sandwich bit of it is like 2 thin flatbreads joined with a fried egg in middle from outside station and back to hostel.

I have decided if I don’t sleep well tonight I am off somewhere else tomorrow, I struggle to sleep as it is and if I can’t sleep tonight shattered I need to move on.

I’ve also noticed a lot of bite marks on my arms and legs in the last 24 hours, now whether this was from the wall or the room I don’t know, wall hopefully. Day’s been great though, loved every minute of the wall. Can highly recommend it.


Day 28 (Wed 3rd Oct)



It is a month today since I left the Isle of Man to explore and 28 days since leaving the UK, times flies when you’re having fun. Today has been a strange one. Started well and got progressively worse in the evening.

I woke up after a reasonable sleep so decided I’d stay on in the hostel and save my money from booking somewhere else. I then decided on going to the Olympic Village. Got the subway out which isn’t the most convenient in the world, having to change 3 times I think it was. Exited the station with the view of the Bird’s nest stadium looking straight at me, wow. It is one hell of a structure and I’ve seen a few large stadiums in my time. I was surprised also at how many people were out there. The place was packed with tourists and what seemed like locals with nothing else to do. The Olympic park itself is pretty well spread out and looks as if during the games would have been very easily to navigate round, which is more than can be said for the rest of Beijing. After finding a cash point, which took an age I withdrew 1500 yuan, and this amount is important as it comes into importance later in my day. I got a ticket and went in for a look. Now it costs £5 to free roam it round the stadium going in any part of it you pretty much want too. This is not normal in my experience of stadium tours, normally guided around by someone, but here just do as you like, exactly how I would have wanted it. The track and field were covered by what must have been a National Day celebration event, which was a shame, because I believe you can get on the track in some form. So I wandered around, went right to the top and left. I decided the interior is like a slightly smaller Wembley, similar shape to it, although Wembley is more impressive overall, it is just the external birds next feature of Beijing makes it stand out more so.

Roamed around the rest of the park, it’s all nice enough but after that I decided to wander to the subway and head to another stadium, this time the Worker’s Stadium, home of Beijing Guoan FC. It is 1 stop from my hostel and was interested at ticket prices. Turned out I couldn’t find a shop or counter selling any for this evenings game, to find out online later they were sold out. Probably saved me a few quid anyways.

Now the amazingly stressful and annoying part of my day. I got back to hostel to be told I’m moving rooms, great news. Packed bag, got my stuff out of my locker and moved to other room. Half hour later fancy some food, realised wallet’s done one! Look everywhere, can’t find it. Search old and new room, bags, toilet, nothing! Inform the reception I’ve lost my wallet and definitely on the premises as it had my key for my locker in it so to get laptop etc must have had it. Once I talk about reporting my loss to police suddenly I get taken more seriously. The receptionist and housekeeper who was straight into my room as I left come to help. Within a minute it’s found by the housekeeper, down the back of a table by the tv. Now I might have left in on the tv but definitely not behind it. Go back to my other room and open my wallet to find only 600 in it, somewhat down on the 1400 I had at least after a cheap day. I now tell the receptionist money has gone and discussions start. This moved to them watching CCTV of the stairways to the roof for ages, no idea why. Then the manager gets involved, all in Chinese so I don’t hear what’s happening. The receptionist told me the staff would chip in to reimburse some. I said this wasn’t good enough and it isn’t up to the staff to do this, it should be the management. Another hour goes by, I go back to reception. I’m told I will be paid tomorrow but when I check out. Now I should have 3 more nights here so I said I don’t mind leaving but I want to money for the nights I have left also so we shall see in the morning what happens. Checked on google and the police station is around 50 yards away so roll on tomorrow. I’ve sorted a new hostel and can’t wait to move on. I had wanted to do the night market for some scorpion and crickets etc but maybe do that tomorrow or Friday instead. Not a happy boy!!



Coming Up – Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Night Market and the result as to whether I get my money back!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

Stupidly steep stairs, a common theme of the wall


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb