More about the Great Wall


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Great Wall of China
June 28th 2017
Published: July 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So today we visited the Great Wall of China! We left the hostel at around 6:00 am went to meet the bus, but because some people were running late the driver thought we weren’t coming and left but eventually came back…

It took us around three hours to get to the Wall from our hostel. Yashoda told us that we weren’t going to the section of the Great Wall where all the tourists go that has been reconstructed, but we were going to a section that is one hundred percent untouched which I thought was pretty cool. I was a little disappointed because I still would have liked to have seen the touristy part, but I'll probably come back and see that some other time in the future…

The walk along the Wall was SO gorgeous! I don’t think words could describe just how beautiful it was to be standing on the Great Wall of China and be looking out over such an amazing landscape!

We walked around seven kilometres of the wall, I would have liked to have done more but we spent a lot of time looking in the towers which were so cool! Some of
them where two story and were like a mini castle. We saw parts of the Wall that had been designed and built for pouring hot oil on enemies… I asked Yashoda, if we went digging around how many skeletons we would find. Her answer was, probably quite a lot, which I thought was pretty cool how its just been left completely untouched but its also a tiny bit creepy. We got some pretty awesome photos of all of us along the wall which I cant wait to share with my family and friends when we get back. I really hope that one day I can bring my parents back to visit the wall, I think its something that you just have to see, a photo wont tell you much about it until you are actually phisicallly there…





Bethany

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb