The Great Wall Of China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Great Wall of China
July 2nd 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There are several different areas of the Great Wall that can be visited. I had heard some bad stories about overcrowded and unpleasant Great Wall tours especially the section closest to Beijing. I went to a section about an hour and half outside the city that was beautiful and not over-run with tourists.


I signed up for a tour through the hostel where I was staying and met three Canadian girls, Stephanie, Ritu and Nilam, on the bus ride out there. We spent the day walking the length of the wall, taking photos and getting our asses kicked by the sun. The wall was very impressive; I'm very glad I won't have to leave China without seeing the Great Wall.


We opted to hike up to the wall rather than take the ski lift up, but on the way back down we took the tobogan. I was surprised to see the tobogan option; what a great way to descend. I strapped my camera to my chest to get video on the way down defying the signs that warned: No drugs, no photography.

I spent the next few days hanging out with Ritu, Nilam and Stephanie . They were old friends who hadn't seen each other in a while and they were nice enough to take me on as a fourth wheel. They were really funny and I had a lot of fun trying to make them laugh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb