Finding Peace in the Forbidden City


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
September 19th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was unable to go to the Forbidden City as planned on the 18th, as they had shut down Tian'amen to rehearse the 60th Anniversary celebrations. I went to the Summer Palace instead (it was ok, but wasn't too impressed, really). I called it an early night and decided to go to Tian'amen on Saturday, Instead.

I actually bit the bullet and took the subway (gasp!) to Tian'amen Sq. I figured, why pay 23 yuan when I can pay 2 yuan? Beijing's subway system is cheap, fast, and efficient. It is crowded, though - all the time. I mean standing room only even though it is only 10am on a Saturday crowded. Thankfully, I only had to change once - from line 2 to line 1.

The Forbidden City (or 'The Palace Museum') costs about 60 Yuan to get in (about $8) plus 40 Yuan to rent one of those audio guides. The place is huge, I must say. Those guys had way too much money. It was cool, though.

I didn't get any good pictures of the interiors, because these old grannies kept pushing and shoving me out of the way. At one point I shoved back - hard. I was afraid that I may have broken her hip, but those old grannies must be made of steel or something. She gave me a look and I gave her the biggest stink -eye I could muster. She then smiled at me, which I didn't understand. I don't know, but I'm finding people a little bit rude here.

Besides the shoving matches, I thought the Forbidden City was very beautiful - much more impressive than the Summer Palace. I also was able to get a bit of history on the Ming and Qing dynasties as well, which I really appreciated.

At one point, I passed a student artwork 'exhibition' that was in a room in the Forbidden City. One of the artists, Skye, led me in. Even though I was reluctant at first, I was eventually drawn to some paintings he did of a lone boat in each different season - spring, summer, autumn and winter. He told me he was really into painting boats. It was the meaning behind the boat that got me though - The boat represented tranquility and peace within yourself after much searching. Perhaps it was serendipity or something. I chose the paintings that represented autumn and winter. After all, I am entering the autumn of my life (19th is my Birthday) and perhaps, one day, I'll find peace if and when the winter hits. I can't wait to put them on my wall.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



21st September 2009

Preferences
Interesting that you liked the Forbidden City more than the Summer Palace -- I was the complete opposite. Maybe because it was SOOOO hot when I visited, and the Summer Palace had water around it (which made me feel cooler)? I don't know. I do however fully understand about the people pushing and the rudeness. (In face, I laughed when I read that.) Glad to hear that the stink-eye and the shoving back didn't cause anyone permanent damage. As for the subway, I took it when I was there too. Not so bad! Definitely cheaper than a taxi. Wish the TTC was about the same price! (28 cents about right???)
21st September 2009

Yep - subway was cheap!
But you had to know where to get off and what exit to take. I got out at the wrong exit once and ended up far away from where I was supposed to be.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb