All seasons


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Feng Tai District
May 13th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Water lilies Water lilies Water lilies

Ahh I love water lilies. spent the day here studying Chinese and just enjoying the beautiful weather.
So my favorite painter has always been Monet. Why because he captures that majical our of light that photographers so covet in a way that is so perfect. And because I have always loved seeing the same subject in different seasons. For me art should always come in fours. So in honor of Monet I have now taken pictures of my favorite pagoda in all seasons. And what more fitting than for it to have water lilies! I think Monet would have liked China. So this is the last pictures of this park I promise.

Funny story about this man. He is fishing I guess, for what I don't know. This pond always has someone fishing in it. So he sits there staring at his line and then a man carring a very blue umbrella comes walking up and he jumps up shouts something very loudly. He pulls his net out and they join the group of old men at the table and playing cards. Typical China

Someone once told me: "This is China no one is in the way."
I heard on a TV show : " This New York everyone is in the way. "

Only

Spring
in China would I be obssesed with squid on a stick. Its my new favorite food.
only 3 quai
Who told Fengtai to stop selling diet coke? Every grocery store now only carries diet coke with lemon. Its very strange they all did it at the same time even the large ones. These are the great mysteries of life.

China in the News. A disgruntle man threw a flaming object at the portrait of Mao Saturday and it burned the corner. They closed of the Forbidden city for two days. They had a new picture up by Sunday. This is the second time his picture has been defaced. Some people threw red and black paint at it in the 70's. They spent ten years in prison. And here I thought It was an orginal painting. Where do they keep back up paintings that size?

Quote: "Long Island reminded me of one of those quaint European cities where the music was 20 years behind and you can smoke anywhere"



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

WinterWinter
Winter

To refresh your memory
Man in Park Man in Park
Man in Park

Which photo do you like more the man far away or closer.
Man in Park Man in Park
Man in Park

Which photo do you like more the man far away or closer.


14th May 2007

man in lillies
I vote for the man up close. All your pictures are interesting and beautiful. Dan and Linda were so happy to see you. I will be happy too. Grandmama
14th May 2007

No one in the way
People in China do feel like they have a perfect right to be anywhere--like standing in the middle of the street (or parking in the middle of the street) or driving the wrong direction. No matter that it messes up the rest of the traffic in both directions.
15th May 2007

Nice update
So, what about that phone number? Do you have one that I can reach you at? I think it would be nice to actually "talk" to you.
15th May 2007

You are a Poet
Hi Trisha, You are really a poet. You look at things with a poetic eye. You should go ahead and write your book, about your adventure there. It would be a success! Your life will never be the same, now that you have taken this time to enjoy it. You will be one hamster that will not get back on the wheel, and who just won't stay in the cage anymore. Blessings, Les and Cheryl
15th May 2007

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PARK!!!
I'd go there a lot too!! I like the man far away cause the flowers are so pretty, but my favorite is the close up of the water lilies. Squid on a stick! Glad it's spring!
16th May 2007

Squid on a stick...how exotic. I like the close-up the best. I always like reading your entries so much. It is 3pm and in two hours I only have two more days at my job!!!! I am overwhelmed with joy over this. Love you, tara

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb