China (so far)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Dongcheng
November 11th 2012
Published: November 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, taken a while to blog and I still need to add my Japan one but just thought I'd update you on some of our adventures in China. Yesterday we had our first real day in China and decided to go to the Forbidden City which in the book sounds amazing - a massive palace from some very old dynasties with lots of different parts to see. However, it was absolutely freezing and pouring hard with rain all day and to make things worse my coat that I thought was waterproof obviously was not (although it was only £5 from primark so what should I have expected). Anyway, the palace was large, yes, but amazing, no it wasn't. Probably the most uninteresting thing I've been to on my travels so far - maybe it was the rain and cold, maybe the fact I've seen nothing but shrines and palaces since leaving england and there's only so many historical buildings I can take or maybe it was just rubbish??. Once safely back at the hostel room and dry I was happy again, well that was until I needed the toilet and had to use the communal hostel toilets - well what can I say about that except its am eastern toilet (basically a hole in the ground) at least there is a door I suppose but worse is that it's always covered in s**t and p*ss and stinks. Well anyone who knows me knows that I am quite particular about bathroom hygiene and this is really the only thing that has tested me since being away. I'm sure there must be a certain way of using them without pi**ing all over yourself but i cant seem to work it out, worse still I have been close to falling over several times and actually touching the floor basin with said crap all over it......

Anyway second day was freezing again but no rain forecast for next few days so took the opportunity to have a wander around the Dongchéng district of Beijing. We got the tube to the shopping bits, had some yummy chicken and rice dish something that tasted a bit like a dish from the golden eagle for breakfast (yes breakfast - they don't seem to do a full English here - how rude). Then we walked round some of the cheaper more authentic Chinese shops and I managed to buy a really warm and waterproof coat which is just in time as we are going to the Great Wall tomorrow and we've been told there has been snow in last couple of days. After a great day chilling, literally, we decided to grab some dinner at a restaurant near our hostel. No one speaks English in the restaurants and if your lucky you can get a picture menu which gives you some idea of what your ordering, or so I thought!!!! Tonight I ordered a chicken and vegetable dish and Pete ordered a beef and vegetable dish. Pete's was lovely, mine was not chicken, I don't know what it was but me and Pete came to the conclusion it was some sort of animals arse - so perhaps I should be joining I'm a celebrity get me out of here and doing the eating challenge. Trying not to give up too quickly I had 3 or 4 mouthfuls before confirming there was no way I could eat it Pete was in hysterics because he afterwards declared that he wouldn't of even had a second mouthful. In the end we paid and left and instead opted for some street noodles for a quid!! Yummy and a bargain.

So in summary.... i have almost fallen in a crap covered toilet hole, got soaked through and eaten dog/chicken or whatever's arse. However I am strangely enjoying china it's definitely an adventure and there's loads more to come so i'll keep you all posted. P.s Facebook is banned in china so I cannot write on there or see anyone else's messages so please skype, viber or email if you wanna chat



Bye for now x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb