Beijing - Peking duck


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Dongcheng
May 20th 2010
Published: May 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In anticipation of tomorrow (see next entry), I had a quiet, admin day today. I did manage

to make it to the Ming City Walls park - a small mile or so long stretch of park that runs

alongside the remaining / reconstructed bits of the old city wall of Beijing. There was a

museum of sorts, with the history and pictures (all captions in Mandarin, but the pictures

were pretty) and I could go up onto the ramparts and get views over the city and the nearby

central railway station.



In the evening, I went out with my dormmates and with the guys I hung out with yesterday for

Peking Duck. *Real* Peking duck had been much vaunted in all the guidebooks, and although

it was delicious (and, interestingly, was carved into slices rather than shredded as I am

used to) I felt slightly let down. It was certainly not the promised culinary Mecca.

Talking to an American friend, I was shocked to hear she had never before eaten Peking duck,

so perhaps it's not exported to all faux-Chinese restaurants around the globe, which might

explain why it's so famous and praised.


Still, it was a fun evening, and I went to be satisfied (and full).



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Ming City Walls ParkMing City Walls Park
Ming City Walls Park

Archway to allow railway through.


Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb