New Day Creation


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Daxing » qingyundian
October 1st 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

sheepsheepsheep

The bus does not go exactly to New Day so I have to walk through the town. Which is fine by me i get to see all sorts of things like this shepherd.
I am doing well after battling sickness this week. I recovered from the actual physical part of the illness by Wednesday but the emotional toll it took took longer to recover from. But after a trip to the foster home and the ability to get out and take pictures put my spirits right back at 100%. It is the Autumn here and they are harvesting corn and it really is a very good time to be in Beijing the weather is mild and you can walk or ride your bike without being hot or cold.
On Friday we have to drive to a school teach one class at 10 and then don't teach again until 2pm. So Bao, Randy and I walked around area and found a pagoda in a small park where we sat and read. It was great. Randy is the only other American at my school. He is a sixy year old man. Bao is his Chinese girlfriend who teaches with him.

She speaks English pretty well and I am slowly getting to know her. She expressed an interest in the foster home and went with me these last two times. I was glad she did because the bus did not stop where I thought it was going to and if she had not been there I would probably still be wandering around Qingyudian.


I visited the Foster home and took some pictures. Some of the children thought it was great and wanted to pose and play with the camera while some were really frightened. The foster home is divided in two, small children upstairs, older ones downstairs. We spent most of the time upstairs. I spent two hours holding and playing with Adah. I put the detailed information about Adah in the captions.
I could not leave without saying hello to Tyler who has really captured my heart. He is always laughing. He is a little bit agressive. But he is a boy who spends a lot of time indoors so I don't mind it. But his activness is a handful when you have so many to look after. So I try and play with him and get all the energy out of him so that he can go to sleep at nap time. He was born with a hole in his heart but it has now healed completely on its own. So there is nothing keeping him from running and playing. He cracks me up because I can't understand I word he says and he does not understand what I am saying but we get along fine. The childrens nurses are Chinese so they mainly speak Chinese but a lot of the volunteers speak English and most will get adopted by people in America. So they are learning. Its fun to hear them say hi and goodbye.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

AdahAdah
Adah

Adah is one years old and abonded at the orphangae. She has heart disease and a deformed arm. But there is nothing wrong with her very big smile.
AdahAdah
Adah

It is amazing how God made for everything to happen in steps and through a process. Babies have to spend time on their stomachs to learn how to flip over and to crawl. Because Adah spent so much time on her back she is scared when placed on her stomach. Without time on her stomach she has not learned how to crawl and is very weak. Adah is One years old but you can see how small she is in comparison to three month old Felicity who is also small for her age. Its amazing what such a small thing as not turning over can delay so much. It makes me think of how many times I have not turned over in my spiritual life and thus I am now weak.
tylertyler
tyler

So you won't think I am just stealing the photos off the internet here is a picture of me. Tyler is definatly my favortie of the older children. Sometimes i wish that I had a point and shoot camera so that I could have pictures of myself. Is that vain? My Chinese camerman was a little wobbly with the camera.
Corn HarvestCorn Harvest
Corn Harvest

This is the last weeks of corn harvest time and you can see piles of corn every where. Buying boiled corn in good but most of it is dried so they can grind it up and make gruel which is supposed to be very healthy for you. I am not particularly fond of it.
Corn2Corn2
Corn2

This week is the Autumn festival where every body is celebrating the good harvest.


1st October 2006

so cute!
I need to get over there and hold adah and tyler. i may slow down adah's crawling though cause I won't put her down! keep having fun and enjoy the great weather. cheryl
2nd October 2006

adoption
Oh if only I could! I read that china does not allow people with more than 5 children to adopt. Hey you don't have that many!! They look so happy. I am so glad you are playing with them. Hug them for me.
2nd October 2006

sooo precious
Oh my goodness, Trisha! You seem to fit there so well. And you with little Tyler, *big grin* that is precious. I think I would love the corn because I like to eat it raw. But not too sure what gruel is exactly-I guess mashed up corn or something. Glad to know you're well, and not getting the pics off the internet-that you're really there in CHINA. AhHHHH. I love you and miss you. :) and I love this travel blog.
3rd October 2006

So impressed!
Trisha, I have spent the last hour and a half visiting with you and feel as though I have been to China. So thrilled for you. Which of the babies can you bring home? I know you have fallen for them, but oh how they must love you. I am doing this on Linda,s computer. I love and miss you, Grandmama
7th October 2006

I was just thinking about you, looking at your pictures, and I nearly cried. Love you so much, Ally
10th October 2006

if everyone else wantsw tyler i will GLADLY take Adah! R.
2nd November 2010

im miss this place
I really miss new day. I taught here for five months. The shepherd with his flock reminds me when im on my bike on my way to school from the apartment. i also miss the kids. is seth still there? maybe i'll volunteer this coming january

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb