好久不见 (Long time no see)


Advertisement
Published: April 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So it's been way too long since I've posted, so here goes.

I believe the last time I posted I had just started working at Hampson English, and was waiting to hear back about a possible job at a video game company. Well, I never heard anything back from the company, even after sending a few follow up emails, and I'm still at Hampson. I've got quite a few hours now, and am enjoying it for the most part. I'm really enjoying the other teachers, and some of the students, but teaching's never really been my thing, so I'm looking forward to moving on.
Right now I'm waiting to hear back from a law firm about a job. Through a family friend, I got an interview at the US based law firm O'Melveny & Myers LLP. It's got offices all over the states, with headquarters in California, and international offices in Brussels, London, Tokyo, Singapore, Hong Kong, Beijing, and Shanghai. So I had a phone interview, then a follow up interview at their Beijing office, then a week later went in for a conference call interview with someone from their headquarters. The last I heard is that the different people I interviewed with are talking about an offer and will get back to me after the holiday. (May 1 is a national holiday here)
So, I'm pretty excited about that. I'd be doing research. The firm does mostly corporate law, so I'd use different resources to find out about different companies that are being sued, so that the firm can know which companies to pursue as potential clients. Seems like it could be really interesting, and it's a consistent job with a very large US corporation with room for advancement, so really excited about the prospect.

Anyways, right now I'm just teaching English and hanging out with the other teachers, and trying to save money. Hoping to be able to save up enough to head back stateside for a little bit over Christmas. The nice thing is that living expenses here are really cheap, so provided I don't have any big expenses that come up between now and then I should be able to afford it.

Anyways, I've gotta get to class now, time to teach a 6 year old named "lil Jason."
I love the crazy names of my students, my favorites are lil Jason, Mouse, and Tyrone. Tyrone and Mouse are both 2, their moms picked their names, feel sorry for the little guys.

I'll try to post more consistently in the future. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb