Countdown to the Olympics: 0 DAYS!


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS



What do banners, shirts, traffic laws, water-cooler conversations, TV shows, and even the day's specials on some of the restaurant menus have in common? The 2008 BEIJING SUMMER OLYMPICS! The logo is everywhere and you would have to be a real dummy to not realize what is about to happen. In the final hours leading up to the Games, whether it is tickets, transportation, signs, shirts, hotel rooms, or just a peace of mind, everyone is scrambling for something. Beijing has gone from the traditional capital of China focused on preserving their cultural relics and historical places to a city buzzing with the Olympic spirit.

Lining all of the main streets are Beijing 2008 banners and flags, new bill boards, and huge canvases covering the buildings that are still under construction. Out of nowhere, they all appeared. One day I woke up and buildings had different signs out front displaying "One World, One Dream: Beijing 2008." It is crazy. But, the newly placed signs and banners are not the only new additions gracing us with their presence: Security is everywhere - and I mean, every where. On my 5-minute drive to work, down 1 road, there is a military official standing about every 40 feet or so. They are there for security - but whose? That is the question.

There are many interesting things going on with these Olympics that will definitely make them one of the more remembered Games (and sort of have already). I really urge you all to watch the coverage on the TV as much as possible - you do not want to miss this.

What am I doing, you ask? Well, I am just like every one else: I am running around buying last-minute tickets, arranging airport pick-ups, coordinating hotel rooms, making event calendars and planning ballroom events like you wouldn't believe. I am definitely going to be busy.

Oh, and look for me on the TV screens! My parents will have an updated list of what events I will be at though I might acquire tickets at the last second so just watch 24/7 haha. I am the biggest Olympic fan ever (admittedly, I cry every time America wins the gold and the National Anthem is played while the flag's being raised - there's no greater honor for a country or an athlete in the sporting world). Anyways, watch for me on the TV. I'll be in row 3 for one of my events and who knows what other trouble I'll get myself into (don't worry Mom and Dad, I won't get deported again - though I know that Craig and Ian would love that.....)

(The following is a disclaimer: I was not technically deported). Ok, well, I'll try to keep you all updated as much as possible but I can only connect to the internet in certain locations for the duration of the Games and more importantly, I do not have much time at all! See you all in 19 days!


Advertisement



8th August 2008

You would
HERE WE GO O O - N*sync Have a blast and do try to stay out of trouble would ya!
9th August 2008

Awesome
very jealous...hope you are having the time of your life...saw the opening ceremony yesterday and it was awesome. i wish we could have watched it online live, but for some reason it was blocked everywhere...take tons of pics :)
9th August 2008

Beijing
Sounds so interesting to read your comments about Beijings sings etc. at the beginning of the Olympics. I try to watch when i can and the opening last night on TV was truly spectacular. If only the world could be so joyful instead of going to war etc. Am proud that you have been able to spend the summer and see so much of China. And now the Olympics!! Hurrah for You....
12th August 2008

Important
Don't forget the laser pointer.
14th August 2008

Street Vendors have Disappeared
...I haven't seen a single street vendor since I've come back. I wonder where they went (note the sarcastic question where I actually know the answer but can't say it). Anyways, I'll keep looking but I haven't found them yet and it's pretty doubtful at this point with the Olympics..........

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb