Finally, a blog!


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone - sorry it's taken so long!! I've genuinely been quite busy at work (more in a sec), and not a heap of access to a computer. ALSO, I desperately wanted to add some photos as I've taken heaps, but of course I left the USB lead back home... So it'll be a trip to a computer store armed with dictionary and camera I suppose!

Anyway, to the job: It's been going really well. I have a Friday and Saturday weekend, so I'm working Sunday to Thursday. Working is a loose word, as right now I'm on a break at work and I'm typing this blog!! Also, sometimes work is such a joy and so much fun it doesn't feel like work at all. The class sizes are usually 2-6 adult learners, although I've had a class as big as 15 so far. They are all different levels but with people of a similar level, and most of the students are really keen to learn with great attitudes - teaching them is a breeze!

I've also got a couple of what our company calls VIPs - customers who want a flexible, one-on-one package. I have a weekly VIP who is quite high up in China Mobile (she's also really friendly... and tiny! I tower over her!!) My most news-worthy VIP is a pop-star, although I've only taught her twice. Think 2005 Chinese Idol's 4th place getter :-)

Outside of work, I'm loving being back in Beijing. So many interesting things have happened. I ran into two Aussies at a bar who I'd already heard of through 2 degrees of separation - like close mates you're yet to meet...it was a surreal feeling. Also I'm going to be on Korean TV (yes, I know... bizarre!) To cut a long story short, I was having coffee during a break with another teacher just near work, place was basically empty apart from this Korean lady and a cameraman. The barista starting making all these special 'olympic' coffees - the mascots, the logo, the rings - all kinds of designs stencilled in chocolate onto the coffee. They were going to waste so we got to drink one each! Then they interviewed us, asking us what we thought, and then after they left the manager gave us another voucher for a free drink at a later time!! Talk about right place right time! (I promise photos of the coffees will be up next time)

Hmm what else? I've settled into a pretty good routine - my flatmates and I get along well; (we're hosting a St. Patrick's party tonight...) I bought a fairly new bike from an outgoing teacher, for a bargain price - but I got ripped off by the bike repair man who insisted a bell, a new tube and axle costs 120 yuan (I paid 100 for the bike! 100 = about A$15) Anyway I love my bike, and if I'm feeling up to it I'll ride to work instead of walking (a 15 minute walk).

The other morning was great. I allowed half an hour - rode about 3 minutes down the road and stopped at a cheap jiaozi/baozi place on the way (dumplings and steamed buns). Then to keep riding it was easier to just do as the locals do and ride on the wrong side of the ring road, in the bike lane. (it was safer doing that than trying to cross the ring road, let me tell you!!) Anyway just as I was about to battle the oncoming tide of bicycles I saw a tut-tut motorised sedan bike thing zoom past me, horn blaring. So I pedalled as fast as I could, went behind him as he was creating a wake for me through the oncoming bikes! It was an amazing feeling - like the seas being parted before me!

Before I get my mother on the phone, yelling at me for riding down the wrong side of a ring-road (!), I have to mention that I've never felt unsafe on a bike here... Crossing the road as a pedestrian, you take your life into your hands. But on a bike is very safe- Beijing drivers are used to them, they drive slowly, and bicycles seem to have this psuedo right-of-way... Everything works when you're on a bike, and I'd rarely ride on the road back home if I can avoid it, but relish the chance here :-)

The last thing about my bike (I should give her a name, seeing as I'm talking about her all the time!! send me suggestions!) - I always have to keep some really small change (2 jiao or 0.2 yuan... about 3 cents aussie) for parking!!! At work, being all these high-rise buildings, they have to provide car parks as well as areas for bike parking - it's an underground thing, and there's always an attendant there, watching over the bikes. (bike theft is rampant, especially for a nice new looking one like mine) So as I'm heading home at night, I unlock my bike's two locks, get out the parking fee, put on my riding gloves and pass the fee to the parking dude as I glide by... all very surreal.

Okay, I think that's it. Oh the pollution - it's amazing: the two songs I have constantly stuck in my head (for all the jazz-nerds reading this) are "On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever)", and "What a Difference a Day Makes"... the first is my sardonic way of battling through the day, when you can barely see 100m. The other is because these soup-like days are sometimes followed by the blue skies and the most beautiful of days... Looks like the Olympics will be a thing of chance!

Sorry it's taken so long (both between posts, and indeed this post from start to finish!) but hope it was worth it. Till next time,
Wade

PS Photos are coming, I promise... once I figure out the chinese for "camera USB lead"
PPS Americans don't use lead - they always use cord... the number of arguments we all have about English is amazing... we use such different words - but let's leave it at that, as there's enough material for another whole blog post!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb