Off to the streets of Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Beihai Park
June 11th 2012
Published: June 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Art MuseumArt MuseumArt Museum

Saw it on my "walkabout" the city
Here we go. I had an awesome breakfast at the Sun World Hotel. It is a buffet with many meat,rice , noodle and vegetable dishes. There are even strange little white round stuffed breads. Then there is the regular American fare which is excellent. I chose an amazing variety of mushrooms and truffles and a fried thing that looked like a miniature stalk of Chinese cabbage. Then they had a great custard. I really wish you all could taste this. Of course, there was the great tea also.

I am off to theBeihai Park. It is within walking distance and I am on my own today as my tour Starts tomorrow. It used to be the Imperial gardens of a bunch of dynasties. Plus there is a museum. Then hit the shops andstreets. I am taking my IPad to take a few photos. These are easy to import to this blog.

Walked 4 hours. Went to the lake and sat awhile. It is in the middle of the city as it is part of the Emperor's parks near the Forbidden City. While walking home I saw another park and it cost $0.34 to get into. I thought, "Ok, I
Forbidden City Forbidden City Forbidden City

On top of the mountain I almost missed for the trees. Highest point in city so I got a 360 of Beijing.
can afford this."

It was canopy of trees and walkways and very green. I almost missed the point of the park as in the middle there was awalkway to the left and I looked up to see a limestone mountain and at the top was a shrine of a female Bhuda. That is where I have the picture of the Forbidden City. It lookslike thehighest point in the city and I got a 360 of all of Beijing . It was spectacular and helped point me in the right direction home. It took about 40" to get home.

Went out on the town again. Stores stay open until at least 10pm and people are everywhere. There were street dancers of all ages, some doing fan dances, teens doing breakdancing and hundreds of people again line dancing. It seems to connect people in an impersonal city. It is so neat to see! They just set up a boom box and off they go. And this was a Monday night!

Having a great time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Houhai LakeHouhai Lake
Houhai Lake

Part of the Emperor's park


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb