baby entry


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Beihai Park
June 23rd 2008
Published: June 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This next week is gonna be packed so a quick bullet -style rundown of the past few days, otherwise they'd be lost in the hiatus.

Rest of Thursday was us running around and forming study groups and trying to prepare for test. I also woke up about 5:30 next morning to study on my own (i just study better when i first wake up). Test was hard b/c a different teacher prepared it so the format was new. However i hope for the best. Week two test was a 90% w/B+ on the speaking.
Besides test Friday was pretty chill, took a walk by myself around campus, on way back ran into Tai to told me our group was challenged to a big soccer match by some Korean exchange students in the neighboring dorm. I ran back to room, changed, and joined up. We played concrete street soccer for hours and it was awesome. Came back, Wes & I grabbed late dinner b/f English Corner. Misordered again, but it turned out fantastic this time because it's the best dish I've had over here--whisked eggs with roasted tomato ever steamed rice. I know, sounds odd, but it's like a Chinese-style skillet dinner, so simple yet so tasty.
English Corner much fun again, then some of us went to explore Beijing.
There was supposed to be a big group excursion Saturday, but the bus left at 8 and about 1/3 of kids missed it. Me included--didn't hear my alarm, Wes has none. Same deal w/Daniel. So the three of us just hung out, and then Dan&I called Wan Laoshi (a resident grad student/teacher). She told us they were out of the city (they visited two temples and Marco Polo bridge--damn), but that they'd be back in Beijing later for Beihai park. Dan & I took bus and met up w/them for the rest of the afternoon, and BeiHai park was very beautiful--almost like a mini-Summer Palace. Took it easy that night, watching a DVD on our room w/Wes/Daniel/David/Hao. It was nice to just sit back and relax for a change.

But speaking of Summer Palace, Sunday was free day, and I split a cab with 2 others and returned there early in the morning. I believe they both left by early afternoon, but we all split up once we got there. I myself didn't leave until 5. I've walked basically the entire grounds now, and I think even hiked into some no-entry areas hahaha. SO beautiful, but only 2 or 3 pictures this time--second trip was for myself, sorry guys. Spent an hour reading by a lake, 2 hours writing in a hidden cave, 5 hours exploring and soaking it up and loving nature and figuring out who the hell I am. 'Nuff said.

A lot of other kids went back to Silk Market, Wes included, which means our room is now stocked w/poker chips. Booyah free time.
Today was just Chinese class so far, got another class in an hour on the cultural significance of Forbidden City. We will be going there, Drum Tower, and weekend-long visit to coastal provinces all in the next five days, 我没有空,so expect a huge picture-bloated entry in a week or two. Until then, basically expect no contact from me haha
Tonight looks like either studying or a DVD in someone's room or most likely meeting up with my new Chinese partners for some speaking practice and badminton. What a life, huh kiddos?
再见,
-雷本泰
(LeiBen Tai, my Chinese given name on visa haha)

Advertisement



23rd June 2008

Enjoy the single serving bags of milk and other new dining experiences.
23rd June 2008

a great life indeed
have fun Tye.
23rd June 2008

Be sure to pick up a whole jerkified shrink -wrapped chicken on the shelf at the gas station, too. I'll make you the breakfast, lunch, and dinner you've missed most the day you get home! Meanwhile enjoy the new experiences.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb