Tunxi and Mt Huangshan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Anhui » Huangshan
April 7th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We got to the entrance of Mount Huangshan, a UNESCO heritage site which is known for its mountain top views of the clouds below, it is actually called the Sea Of Clouds and spectacular sunrises. We arrived at the entrance to the mountain by way of bus and taxi before spending around 11 hours climbing the west side steps and savouring the stunning views, the peaks are all roughly 1800M above sea level and have interesting Chinese names like “Beginning to believe peak”, “Cloud dispelling pavilion” and “The flower grown out of a writing bush rock”. There are steps the whole way, some of them very narrow and slippery. I did find it quite demanding because my knees aren't really that great, the physiotherapist has told me that eventually they’ll get back to normal but that’s not much use right now. The only peak i missed was the tallest which is Lotus Peak 1864m above sea level. At the summit hostel I started chatting to my 2 Chinese roommates, 1 from the south, the other from Hong Kong, later his female friend joined the party. They couldn’t understand why I wanted to see China so much when I could go to Europe, Oz or America. I told them my route through china and noted down some of the pointers they gave me. After another cup noodle style dinner and a few beers I turned in at 10.30 exhausted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb