KoRu


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Our boat driverOur boat driverOur boat driver

You can see he takes his job very seriously
After spending the morning on the beach soaking up some much appreciated sunshine, Emma and I caught the 1pm boat to KoRu. KoRu is the name for the other side of Bamboo Island which can accomodate a max of 52 people. Last night there were only about 30 people there so the vibe was relaxed and calm. It was the perfect place to swing from a hammock, take warm seawater swims and sip an Ankor beer or two. We stayed in a dorm for $4 a bed but the bungalows provide alot more privacy so when Jude and Sienna rocked up they asked to see these. Unfortunately or fortunately for me, I was not there at the time but they are staying somewhere in Sihanoukville.

After a leisurely walk around the island and a deliciously cheap breakfast, I left the island at 10am. Emma stayed behind for an extra night- her plans were to hammock hang for the majority of the day. I spent the rest of today scrubbing the layer of dirt, salt and sea from my skin and then cooling myself under my personal fan. I restocked my busfood supplies for tomorrow's 10hr drive to Battenbang and made my long awaited Skype call to the farm.

I have enjoyed my time in Sihanoukville but i'm excited to see the countryside and villages of Battanbang. Tomorrow will be a long day. I will think of you having your cooked breakfasts and Easter Eggs in jealously.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

OuthouseOuthouse
Outhouse

This is the toilet on the 'posh'side of the island.


4th April 2010

Easter at Stronsay
Hi my darling, We have had a pretty relaxed Easter. Most of us went to 8am mass and then had a cooked breakfast... yes farm eggs (and potato bread cooked by Pat and Mia!). After lunch, dad, grandad, Pat, Joy, Marian and I went to Corrigin to play bowls. Joy and I chatted while the others played! Just a bit of fun. We had drinks at the club and Jarrad and Daniel joined us for that. Paul had returned to Perth and Mia was having a beauty sleep.... hey isn't that usually your role? We phoned Lisa this morning but I won't say why... I'll let her tell you about the drama in her life yesterday that we heard about!! We have all eaten too much and done a fair bit of drinking too! Tonight is a b-b-q dinner. Maybe you will be able to find some chocolate eggs in P P when you return there? Meanwhile, I hope Battanbang is fun and that the long bus ride was not too gruelling. I love you and we miss you Chloe! All my love, Mum.
4th April 2010

photos emailed
Hi sissy bum. I missed you today. All the boys are doing boythings and there's no one to play with me. I gave Veg and Trailer their easter presents today, a new soft toy dog each. i have taken some photos and will attempt to email these to you now. love you stay safe, mia. P.S. call lisa at your nearest convienance, you want to hear what sh'e going to tell you xxx
5th April 2010

easter
sorry I asn't there to play with you. I got the photos, the boys are so cute. I wonder how long they will last. Has Veg's toy got a name yet? Since it's green it might need to be Milo or something as i can't think of anyother green breakfast products. I got an email from Lisa telling me about the hold up. She seems to be telling the story very bravely. It must have been a nightmare. Poor Lisa legs. I survived the 10 hours on the bus- but only just. The 6 hours from PP to Battambang was cramped and incomfy. I was the only white person on both buses which was cool. it kind of made me feel like I was doing something others don't attempt- although I'm sure that isn't really the case. I'm just about ready for some lunch. i wonder if you're having lunch at the farm today or if you have already left. Remember what I said about work. I love you lots and lots. Be a good dog. xxx

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb