Pathetic Police


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
March 15th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Firstly, let me say a huge thank you for all your wonderful emails and messages of support. It has been much appreciated. Here's the update of the morning's events.

Three policemen arrived about 8.30am and spent an hour and a half looking at the 'scene'. After report forms were filled out they decided they were not satisfied and so we were to go to the police station. Muoy (school owner) drove us and translated the events as we had experienced them. Cazz was made to rewrite her report form 3 times as the bully of a policeman she was dealing with didn't like how she used dot points- instead he wanted the list of stolen items numbered. Consequently the process was not completed until 11.30am. We felt like we were the criminals, but at least we have our police reports- which are obviously needed to make an insurance claim.

I have already moved beds, and Cazz offered to move into my room. Of course I will be fine alone and I have learnt a valuable lesson about not being complacent with my property/ self. In reality a few dollars and a pair if sunglasses are nothing. The scary part is wondering how and why my mosquito net was sliced, as we are no longer convinced it was due to my backpack being pulled out the window.

I plan to let the event roll off my shoulders and enjoy my last 2 weeks.... just with the windows and doors locked. Again, thank you for your concern, words can not express what it feels like to know you are loved from afar.


Advertisement



15th March 2010

Shock!!!
Hi Chloe, I got such a shock when I read your email. I had just responded to the one about the Killing Fields and was going through them chronologically.....thanks God it was only possessions taken. Did you say you lost the backpack too? It wasn't dropped as he ran off? In shock, I didn't take it all in... I will re read the earlier email after I send this to you. I guess that people know westerners are staying at the school and that makes you a target. What a shame the police were so rough! I am glad you have moved beds and will lock up from now on. If you get this before you phone, I will be at French class until about 9pm but dad will be home if you miss me. I wonder was the guy taken with your blonde hair and beauty and was looking at you? Thank God you woke up and disturbed him!!! Hopefully will speak tonight. I love you Chloe and thank God you are safe. All my love, Mum.
15th March 2010

Be Aware
Hi Chloe, how scary for you and your friend.Thank God you're both Ok...valuables can be replaced! Be aware more than ever now and keep safe. love,Marian

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0976s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb