Phnom Penh Days 3 & 4


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
June 25th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mostly went to family's houses on day 3 & visited the Tuol Tompong (Russian Market). We bought many crafts and gifts for people. Bargaining was kind of fun and I was surprised that I was able to get away with the prices. Mostly they see Jeff and start with the highest price possible. We talked someone from $25 to $12 on something. My favorite thing that I bought here is a necklace of my name in Cambodian in Silver for $15. The best bargain that we didn't even ask to lower their price on was t-shirts for $2. I followed my mom's advice on not paying for anything over 50% of their asking price.

The most challenging thing we did so far was crossing the street. Pedestrians do not have the right of way here and mostly you just have to wait for a break in traffic and step out. People just kind of drive around you... motorcycles and cars. I'm afraid to look around me because it just looks like you are going to get run over. No, there are no crosswalks. You just walk into traffic. It's mayhem.

Oh and I will never complain about how hot it is back home again! My goodness I've never felt heat like this before. I was talking to someone last night and they told me that it's not even hot and that it gets hotter in April. Crazy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb