A Myna Exploration: Wildlife Rehabiliation in the Cardamom Mountains


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » West » Koh Kong
February 4th 2016
Published: February 4th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The path is bumpy and sandy. I lurched and squealed and shut my eyes in the scary parts. Scary parts: crossing bodies of water on a tire-wide concrete bridge with narrow rails on the sides for balancing with the feet.

My second godson from Chi Phat, Rat, is an excellent motor bike driver. He has driven the path to the Wildlife Alliance Animal Rehabilitation Station, 7 kilometers outside of Chi Phat many times, so we arrived safely. First thing I noticed were the ducks toddling about (a source of eggs for the workers there), and then the hill myna birds who greeted us. These noisy black birds flash orange sideburns. They are fond of communing with the guests, perching atop motorbikes, luggage, chairs, and heads.

Mr Souen, one of the caretakers, greeted us with a radiant smile. I met him last year when I spent the night in one of the station's comfortable bungalows. At the time, my friend Rachel, a Peace Corp volunteer stationed in Chi Phat, enjoyed a peaceful evening with me below a glorious star studded sky. We savored the calls of jungle animals nearby amidst the profound quiet. We toured the facility then, and met animals confiscated from illegal wildlife trafficking and awaiting rehabilitation and reintroduction to the jungle.

Mr. Souen, Rat, and I sat in the meal area and chatted for an hour about family and activities, laughing and enjoying each other's company. Mynas landed on Rat's chair and pecked at his ear. He tolerated it, because I think he likes the attention. One of the birds even speaks English, although I never heard him say a full sentence. Law enforcement rangers confiscated these chicks, who were then hand raised at the station. When they released them, they never flew off, because the food supply is so dependable there.

There are several other animals awaiting eventual release at the facility. The female long tailed macaque had a 12 day old baby that clutched her tummy as she visited with us while in her enclosure. Her mate, Mr. Souen said, sometimes snatches the baby from her and acts like a surrogate mom, but then will drop the baby and run off. She was wary of his movements, but showed much interest in our presence.

I don't remember the name of the nocturnal animal that looks like a cross between a bear and a big rodent. It was hanging out of a barrel high in its enclosure. The great hornbill that had a badly injured wing last year is doing better in a much larger enclosure where he can make short flights. They are still unsure whether he can ever be released. He allowed me to stroke his horny beak while he stared at me with his huge, eyelash fringed red eye--what a handsome bird! Males demonstrate utter devotion to the female incubating and raising a young one. He helps her mud in the hollowed place high in a tree, and brings food to her daily throughout the nursing period. This particular hornbill seemed lonesome and craved attention. I commented that he needed a mate to keep him happy.

"We're not a zoo," Mr. Souen replied. And it's true. The purpose of the release station is to get the animals back into the wild in a healthy state. I think the emotional health in the meantime should be a priority. Maybe someday, they'll get a female hornbill that needs rehabilitation. They have another variety of hornbill, and an enclosure with several dozen mynas that are heavily protected by fine wire. Prior to
The Great Hornbill Enjoys a ScratchThe Great Hornbill Enjoys a ScratchThe Great Hornbill Enjoys a Scratch

Recovering from a bad wing wound, he is happier now in a larger enclosure.
the extra wire protection, the civet cats from the jungle managed to catch the birds.

Two pangolins also slept high in their enclosure. These slow moving, scaly creatures remain poaching targets. Eventually their meat ends up on the dinner table in Vietnam and sometimes in Cambodia. These two gentle animals were rescued from an animal snare, and one was missing two legs. The legs are important for digging for their insect food. One of the pangolins was snoozing. Snot dripped out of his nose, and he blew bubbles in it as he slept. Rat climbed up to get a photo, disturbing the creatures from their dozing. I scolded him.

The largest animals at the station are the magnificent sun bears. A female and a young male have become inseparable. Mr. Souen placed food inside the enclosure as Rat and I viewed from behind a screen. I heard them sniff and snort and lick.

"You should come here and volunteer," Mr. Souen told me. Yes, I should, I thought. Tourists stay in the bungalows for a night to learn about the operation and view the animals. It is a wonderful experience that supports a great project. Sounded like
Let's go for a Ride!Let's go for a Ride!Let's go for a Ride!

Hill Mynas interact with people, motor bikes, heads
a dream volunteer job for me to help out.

Our visit could not end until the mynas gave us one last show. A couple birds acted as if they wanted to ride the motorbike with us, landing on Rat's shoulder and on the seat. And then one found my head for a perch. He pecked at my sunglasses. I worried about myna poop hair conditioner, but thankfully, none emerged.

On the ride out, I grabbed the bar behind the seat and felt the slippery slime of myna poo. Guess it was inevitable.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Mr. Souen, A Devoted Animal CaretakerMr. Souen, A Devoted Animal Caretaker
Mr. Souen, A Devoted Animal Caretaker

I asked him if he ever got scared out there alone in the jungle. No, he said, I am surrounded by my friends.
Nocturnal, trying to sleepNocturnal, trying to sleep
Nocturnal, trying to sleep

One of the many animals confiscated from illegal wildlife activities.
The Great HornbillThe Great Hornbill
The Great Hornbill

Magnificent creature with eyelash fringed eyes.


4th February 2016

sharing travels with us
I'm loving your travel blog and the descriptions. What a gift for me and others who read it. Thanks for sharing your travels with me.
5th February 2016

Vicarious travels
Thanks again Ann for your messages,and for traveling with me!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb