Snorkeling and Island Fun


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
February 13th 2010
Published: March 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Our boatsOur boatsOur boats

We had a picnic lunch here.
Today we got up early. Really early. Earlier than we wanted to. But with good reason--we're going snorkeling!

We took a boat out 45 minutes towards a group of islands. The waves were a bit strong and we bounced along, landing with a thud each time, before being launched upward again. Perfect, sparkling blue-green water as far as the eye could see with spots of land in the distance ... this is the way to start the day!

When we arrived I donned a life jacket (I can't swim well) and I was afraid to jump in. So I awkwardly climbed down the ladder instead and nearly had a panic attack when I bobbed up and down. I paddled my way around the boat. My mask kept fogging up or leaking. Great, just like junior high PE class. Julie--who had jumped in--tried to help me by tightening it more. It worked a little and I did manage to see some coral, but I didn't see any fish. I finally gave up my mask started leaking water again. I guess my head is still too narrow.

We took the boat to a different island where we had a fish BBQ for lunch. We all sat on towels or a tarp and ate hungrily. We then took a hike through the "jungle" to the other side of the island. Most people took advantage of the clear water while I enjoyed an empty, white beach. Ahh, the quiet island paradise I'd wanted all trip. It was glorious.

Then we trekked back through the "jungle" and took the boats to a third destination. I didn't get off the boat this time. Neither did half the people. We stayed for about 30 minutes and then took the boats back, moving slowly against the strong current. At times, it seemed like we weren't even moving.

For dinner we went to the same French restaurant as the first night. Hey, great food, great service, what's not to love? I ordered the same thing. And again, it was amazing. I got a different dessert, chocolate this time. It was called cake, but didn't have the cake texture or sponginess I was craving.

We capped off the night with a free movie at our hostel (they have a projector and screen). And our hostel has tap beer for 75 cents. Perfect way to end it all.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

I am the only one on the beachI am the only one on the beach
I am the only one on the beach

Everyone else is swimming.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb