Heartbreak and Inspiration


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 1st 2013
Published: July 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I’ve had a chance to witness several historic events since I arrived last May. The King passed last October leading to a three month mourning period, PUC held a graduation with the Prime Minister Speaking, I've attended two weddings and provincial elections were last summer when the Cambodian People’s Party trounced the opposition and set themselves up for national elections this year which will in turn elect the Prime Minister. Everyone has said the outcome is in little doubt. Hun Sen, head of the CPP, has been Prime Minister since 1988. He’s the longest serving Prime Minister in the world right now. He holds an iron fist on power. I hear opposition comments made all the time but they are sort of made under breath. I kept thinking, “how can this guy can win without out rightly stealing the election if so many people oppose him?” Come election day, international monitors will pour into Cambodia and by all accounts the election will be declared fair and decisive. This week, I discovered how this all works in all too human ways.

PUC, my university, is considered an “opposition” university because Dr. Kol, university founder and president, is a member of the council of ministers representing the Funcipec party. At one time Funcipec represented a reasonably serious challenge to the CPP but now they are severely weakened after Hun Sen staged a coup against the popularly elected head of Funcipec in 1998. There is a coalition of opposition parties now coming together called the National Rescue Party. They are a motley crew of people that have little in common except their hatred of Hun Sen and the CPP. We walk on egg shells around here because every class in every program must be approved by the Ministry of Education which is controlled by, you guessed it, the CPP. Academic freedom virtually does not exist. There is almost no scholarly research being done in Cambodia by Cambodians or Cambodian universities. Any honest and rigorous account of government, education, healthcare, judicial systems, social services, etc., etc., would conclude that the government is corrupt to the core and directly responsible for much human misery. Ministry heads officially make about $150/month yet all own huge estate homes and drive black Land Rover or Lexus SUVs. The economics of $150/month just don’t work out to live such a lifestyle. In the U.S., you get rich and then you run for office. Here, you get into politics to become rich.

A couple of professors, one a very good friend, have been quite active in advance of the election. My friend happens to be a monk which generally would elevate his status, especially with Dr. Kol who devoutly practices Buddhism. He has been posting anti-government messages on his Facebook page and the other professor had a huge editorial in the Cambodian Daily, a very influential English newspaper that totally ripped the CPP and Hun Sen. Yesterday the monk came into my office with tears in his eyes to say goodbye. He has been fired for speaking the truth and standing by his Buddhist principles. You see drinking alcohol is against one of the Buddhist precepts. The Prime Minister, whose brother owns the national brewery has worked hard to increase the production of alcohol and even export it to neighboring countries. There is no tax on alcohol here and no enforcement of age laws so you see children drunk out of the mind pounding down one glass after another of beer that is almost as cheap as water. The other professor I understand is going to be given a warning to tone it down. The Cambodian Daily article is very public and much more damaging than the monk's Facebook page. So why is the monk being fired and the other guy not. The monk is not a family member of university leadership. But this is all happening because the CPP can shut down our entire university based on the personal opinions of these two individuals. It’s a very sad no-win situation. The monk’s life could very well be in danger but he’s vowed to not stay silent. My heart aches for him.

This is how you intimidate and control elections. The election has been won but still newspaper articles speak of violence and revolution and whatever else should their side not win. The volume of the campaign is overwhelming. Large pick up and flatbed trucks drive down the street with party loyalists in the back towing huge video screens and loud speakers. The CPP will have a massive rally before the election. I don’t really fear anything happening because the military supports CPP and any small rebellions would be squashed immediately. Just in case, I’m leaving the day before the election. Fortunately, I have a program in Bangkok that will last a week which is just about enough time to calm things down.

On a more positive note, I started the Heroic Imagination Project yesterday with a group of undergraduates. I had no idea how many would show up but I figured that if I had 10-15 it would be great. 30 students came, many of them students from my critical thinking classes. This is totally voluntary and they receive nothing from it. Another student emailed me today to say, “I love you, teacher, and I want to join with you in the project.” This always comes as such a shock to me in a country that rarely expresses any emotion about anything unless it is anger that boils over to the point of violence. I’m going to get T shirts made for them that say, “Hero in Training” and have a silkscreen design contest for a logo. The course will go on over about 14 weeks and 7 sessions. I’m totally excited about it and word is getting out. No good deed goes unpunished here so I’m sure there will be backlash at some point but I’m prepared. This isn’t about me, it’s about my students and their future. Two of my Ph.D. students have joined with me so they can learn the methodology and sustain this if/when I’m not here.



If/when I’m not here is the question that keeps burning in my heart. How can I leave? How can I stay? Each possibility brings tears to my eyes and I can’t imagine not taking either road. I’m still looking for the possibility of having it all. More to come—perhaps even some crazy campaign rally pics.

Advertisement



2nd July 2013

I Love You Teacher :)
My dearest Tim, You are such a gifted writer. I felt like I was right there with you as I read your blog this morning. You are in the polarity of staying and going. Maybe there is a way that you can do both but the "how" hasn't come to you yet. Either way, as in all things, you're on the path..... Love you, Nory

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb