Cambodia makes me sick!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
August 17th 2012
Published: August 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ok so probably it isn't Cambodia but I have been feeling under the weather the last few days. Fever the other night, headache, no appetite, sneezing, hacking cough. Geez wish I knew a doctor! Lol really though not super sick or anything but didn't have much get up and go. Hot and humid as usual with thunder showers every afternoon.

Went to the national museum in Phnom Penh yesterday morning. Open air building beautifully decorated. Mostly sculpture and tombstones from the Angkor period. Not terribly interesting but not too bad. I wanted to go to the Choeung Ek killing fields outside town and the prison museum but just didn't have it in me. Spent most the afternoon in bed lazing enjoying the AC. My room didn't have a window just two small frosted windows letting in a small bit of light. Also it gets dark here around 630 and eye streets are poorly lit with motorcycles and cars and tuktuks and pedestrians everywhere.

Anyhow went out for a short stroll and go a pizza to munch on along the waterfront then back to bed again.

I'd better perk up a bit now the next few days. Im at the airport now for my short flight to Siem Reap to see the temples of Angkor over the next few days. They're the main reason I came to Cambodia and I'll be rotted if I'm too tired/sick to enjoy them. Then off to Ko Samui in Thailand for some beaching and R&R.

Advertisement



17th August 2012

Hi
Hope you feel better very soon. I love reading your blog. Enjoy the rest of your trip.
17th August 2012

Cold symptoms?
Some say the heat causes the cold! It could be the exhaustion that usually accompanies it that's the culprit. Anyway, hope you're feeling better real soon. Resting up is a good idea. Hope your sight-seeing isn't compromised --that would be too bad. Surprised by the daylight hours --getting dark by 6.30! Must be light very early in the morning? Very overcast here today and 17C. I just mowed the front lawn --had to take out my hearing aid--mower sounded like a canon going off. (lol) i trust you'll be back in S.J's in time for Jeff's visit. Bye for now, take care, Nan

Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb