Bye Bye Phnom Penh..Hello Kampong Cham


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 16th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ah, how's the British weather? This was the view out of my window this morning!

Well this morning is my last in Phnom Penh (Cambodia's capital) for a while, as I'm soon to depart for Kampong Cham this afternoon for 5 weeks of language training followed by a 2 days of 'homestay' (staying with a rural Cambodian family in a village) followed by a week in my placement to find a house/bank account/meet colleagues etc followed by more motorbike training followed by more briefings back in Phnom Penh followed by my starting for real in my placement in April....you see, I promise this is not just an extended holiday!!

Phnom Penh is an amazing city, such wonderful people, warmth and humour.....quickly checked by such high levels of poverty, corruption and destitution.......very hard to comprehend but more of this in future posts.

Once I'm sorted in Kampong Cham I'll get back online and show off my developing language skills - to be fair, I've got Hello, Goodbye, Thank You, No Thank You, 1-10, Sorry, Please and my name nailed, so I reckon I'll be fine!

Big love from Asia,



Pete


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

A TukTukA TukTuk
A TukTuk

The Tuk Tuk...basically a motorbike with a trailer...the Cambodian version of a Black Cab!


16th February 2011

hello from cold dreary London
Hi Pete, Sounds exciting, you will look back on these exciting years when you have your own family and think what an achievement and will be able to show your children all your adventures. Jean
16th February 2011

All sounds good Petey Pete, glad you enjoyed Phnom Penh and I hope you enjoy the next 5 weeks just as much, I'm sure you will! Akoon for the update, these volunteer blogs are always fun to read :-) Oh and Ghana is having just as much sun, if not more than Cambodia right now so you can stick your 'how's the British weather?' comment, ha! Take care Han x
16th February 2011

Hello
Hello Peter Your blogs make me laugh. I think the Tuk Tuk is a long way from London's black cabs! Pleased you are off to learn a new language but you sound half way there already. Can you order a beer 'nd a 'bab yet, deep fried spider flavour of course. All is well here, miss you loads . Love Mum

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb