Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
August 25th 2010
Published: August 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I spent a couple of days in the capital, before heading to the beaches. It's quite a pleasant city. Very modern city, with nice bars and restaurants. Quite different from everything I've seen in Cambodia so far.
I went to the former school - S21 prison, where the Khmer Rouge held political prisoners before killing them. Went to the Killing Fields - where the prisoners from S21 were dispatched. Quite shocking - both places, but well worth the visit. There is a monument built at the Killing Fields - a stupa that holds the skulls and bones of 8000 people. Overall over 20,000 people were killing there. I've read a lot about the Khmer Rouge before hand, yet it is still quite shocking to see it in person. Considering Khmer Rouge were only in power for 3 years and 8 months, they managed to kill a whole lot of people! And there were numerous killing sites like this one.
Went to see the National Museum, that has very impressive collection of Khmer statues and Royal Palace, which reminds me of the Royal Palace in Bangkok, except the site is a lot smaller.
Anyways, I really enjoyed staying here. The food is amazing and cheap. The place is quite relaxing. But I really miss the beaches, so here I come 😊
Next stop - Kep and Rabbit Island.



Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb