Last Weekend Together


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 21st 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hair washHair washHair wash

My hair dresser squirts on water as he suds up the shampoo.
After an eventful week, Friday was finally upon us and we were all well and truly ready for a rest. We made a curry for dinner, drank cold Coke and watched some Season 5 of Lost to welcome in our last weekend together.

Saturday was hectic, yet it was so much fun to be busy. We were up early to avoid the heat as it was forcast to be a stinker. Sok Lim and Panha spent the day with us and so there was no need for a tuk tuk, as we simply rode of the back of their motorbikes. I love cruising along watching the people around us- mostly they are staring at us but it almost feels like we have a rare insight into daily life Cambodian style.

We went to the Russian Market for a spot of shopping, some dvd's for Cazz and a new wallet and sunnies for me to replace the stolen items. After shopping we headed to the hair dresser so I could get a much needed hair cut. This salon is apparently famous with Cambodian film stars and actors and in fact, Panha tells me I was sitting next to one! The
Hair cutHair cutHair cut

The finished product
hair dressers was.... an experience! Firstly, I sat down in a regular looking hair dresser chair, the next thing I know a massive squeeze of shampoo is squirted onto my DRY hair. The male hair dresser then proceeds to spray on water a little at a time and lather up my hair. In the end I look like a cone head, just one mass of hair bubbles. Next, I am taken to the washing area where I am rinsed, conditioned and massaged. Luuuvvvellyyy. Even scored an eye brow massage- highly reccomend it. Once cleansed I return to the chair while they try to untangle the now evident amount of knots with so much detangler spray a fine mist can be seen around my head. They eventually succeed but at this stage I was worried with a capital W. I thought they were going to break my hair and leave me bald. Next, they dry my hair with a blow dryer. I am baffled at this point, isn't the whole point of washing my hair so that you can cut it when it is wet???? Apparently not. So it's dry, I thought the moment of chopping had arrived. I was mistaken.
Lunch timeLunch timeLunch time

My first ice cream in Phnom Penh. It was worth the wait!
Now another lady arrives and both my hair dresser and his assistant begin to straighten my hair. Rightyo. It is now looking luscious, straight and silky and the scissors finally come out. The girls watch on with bated breath as he chops my hair free hand. No comb to pull the hair to a measured length. They breathe a collective sigh of relief as it actually looks good they tell my reflection in the mirror, and it does. It looks lovely.

Next, as it was luchtime and it was a Saturday we decided to have ice cream for lunch. We went to a well known and loved icecream bar called Swensens and ordered sundaes all round. High on sugar we decided that our next move would be to visit a fortune teller, so off we went.

Our fortune teller was a lady in her 60's. She had kind, dark eyes and enjoyed laughing and making jokes. I was second and apparently my future is good. It was very vauge as she spoke very fast and had no english, therefore Panha was left to translate for us. Wierd... yes! The general gist of my future looks good she said.
Yummy YummyYummy YummyYummy Yummy

Yummy yummy in my tummy
The most laughable moment came when she said I would marry in 2011 to someone from home who I already know. Mysterious! She also told me that my family missed me very much and I was a lucky girl. Awww! We enjoyed it but of course take everything lightly.

We high tailed it home just in time to meet the new volunteer, Deanna from Slovakia (spelling?) She is 24 and lovely. She will be shadowing me this week so she can take over from me when I go.

Saturday night arrived quickly after such a big day. We checked into our guesthouse to enjoy a hot water shower, t.v. and air conditioning. We relaxed until dinner time when we met up with some others and our little group swelled to 12. After dinner we headed to expat street to enjoy some refreshing drinks before dancing the night away at The Lounge and Heart of Darkness. We clambered into bed around 3am exhauted but thrilled that our last Saturday night together had been so much fun.

I woke up with a cold (I knew it was coming and am relieved that it held off until today) and the
Fortune TellerFortune TellerFortune Teller

I select my cards carefully
others felt a little worse for wear. We didn't do anything today apart from some grocery shopping and television watching. I slept for 4 hours, which made me feel a little better.

So, all in all it was a very satisfying weekend. Lots done and we are all happy to leave on a high note. I hope that your weekend was fun aswell. Miss you. xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Crystal ball?Crystal ball?
Crystal ball?

What does the future hold?
Liquid BarLiquid Bar
Liquid Bar

Group photo taken at Liquid Bar
Grooving Grooving
Grooving

Dancing the night away, wearing the DJ's sunglasses.
Dance floor anticsDance floor antics
Dance floor antics

Cazz and Channa show us how it's done.


23rd March 2010

Gorgeous Chloe
Hi gorgeous! Who is that 'mystery man from home' that you are going to marry???? Can't wait to discover his identity!!! Seriously, I am glad you had so much fun. Your hair looks gorgeous, despite a weird way of having it done! Did you know we have had a major storm go thru Perth? We had minor damage at home but Chris and Mike were evacuated from their apartment as Jacob's Ladder collapsed! (well part of it did). They spent the night at our place - a much more comfortable alternative to the floor of the Convention Centre. Mia's car was badly damaged by hail and their pool, which Jarrad had spent hours on and was looking sparkling, is black now - full of sand and soil! Still, at least we are all safe. As of 5pm last night, dad had not had a drop of rain. I am hoping it might have come overnight for him. I better go and do some school work now. I love you my darling. Mum.
29th March 2010

Your Hair
what an experience Chloe Your hair looks good and that will be a great story to tell your kids one day....looks like that also might be sooner rather than later? 2011 hey you know I cant resistsomethimg like this! You are having a ball and i loved looking at your pics..I love your honesty and realistic outlook.. Keep up the great work love carolxx
29th March 2010

2011
Hi Brenda and Chloe just saw this option Chloe and wanted your Mum to know that I was very excited by the fortune tellers prediction as well! Come home soon Mr Right is out there waiting for you! xxxx

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb