1 Month Today


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 17th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Happy St. Pats everyone! Along with my heritage, today I am also celebrating that I have been in Cambodia one month. Parts seem to have flown by, others have dragged. Yet in all I suppose it does feel like it's been a month.

The week has steadily improved after Monday's incident. Last night was aerobics night and we again spent an hour sweating it out, along with half of Phnom Penh at the Olympic Stadium. This time we had a sizable group - 6 in all. We collapsed afterwards and had an early night. Cazz has unofficially moved into my room for sleeping. It worked as we both slept better knowing we had company close by. I did have a horrible nightmare but I won't bore you with dream talk (Mia I am thinking of you).

Tonight we did our grocery shopping and I splurged on a jar of Vegemite. $4.60 for a teeny tiny jar, but I know it will be money well spent. We all indulged and came home excited about our treats, and laughing at what we now refer to as 'treats'. Usually butter and orange juice wouldn't fall into this category but here they definately do.

Hope your week is going smoothly. I can't believe tomorrow is Thursday. I only have 7 more teaching days here. I am beginning to realise that it will be hard leaving. I keep having to field questions from the older kids about 'when i'm coming back! You have to feel for them, after the coming and going of so many volunteers you would think they would distance themselves for self protection reasons, but it is not like that at all. From the babies to the teenagers, they are all so open to creating bonds with us volunteers. I so admire their ability to do this continually.

Mum, you asked what the other organisaton was called that Kate and Sian came from. It is called Outreach but I don't know much about it. I am sure if they wanted to come here they could come directly through the school and avoid the high admin fees of an organisation. Hope this helps answer you question.




Advertisement



17th March 2010

Chloe I was chatting to Sasha today and suddenly remembered you been gone a month already. How timeflies. Where are you off to next. I understand how difficult it must be for the kids and it's going to be hard for you too. You are doing a great job and we are all so proud of you. Love lots carolxx

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb