After so much waiting...


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 23rd 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am very pleased to say that we have finally arrived in Phnom Penh, the place that has been in my dreams for so long, yet out of reach because of a multitude of lame excuses. But no more!

What can I say? I love the place. We arrived around lunchtime from Siem Reap via bus, and I was woken my a jolt, only to find that we were pulling up at our final stop. Outside were hordes of rickshaw and moto drivers, all adamant to get out business, the $US1 that it costs to get anywhere around the city.

I was the last to get off the bus, and took slightly longer than everyone else. As I finally made it to the front, the young drivers were already smiling up at me, asking 'tuc-tuc, lady?'. A few days ago, I would have been absolutely terrified by the many what -may-appear-to-be-pushy Khmers, but now, I just smiled back at them and felt blessed to be lucky enough to experience their antics.

Luckily, the guesthouse which Kirk (the Melbournian who founded the Happy School, where I was going to work for one year) had booked us into for the first night had a rickshaw driver there, so we got a free ride along the Mekong River down to the room we are all sharing. When we arrived, I went in to see whether they had our reservation, and sure enough, everything was organised. ANother young Cambodian man showed me our room, after quizzing me on where I was from. He obviously enjoyed the fact that I was from Australia, as he quickly chuckled, 'G'day mate!'. After the first hour at the guesthouse, all of his collegues had followed suit, with comments such as ''Cheers, mate". They are such humbling and beautiful people, and so so friendly. You soon realise that they are just trying to survive, but do so with grace and laughter, something very few cultures around the world have managed.

Well, this afternoon, we are probably going to catch a rickshaw and check out the Russian Markets (named so because the Russians frequented it in the 80's). It reportedly has the cheapest and biggest selection of designer clothes (all manufactured in PP), and of course the girls are hell keen to fill their backpacks. I think I will check out books instead??

Maz x


Advertisement



23rd February 2006

Hi girls, your Mum sent us here to give you tips!
Enjoy Cambodia, we really did, it was one of our favourite countries on our RTW adventure. So sad to leave. Make sure you go to Sihanoukville for some chill out time - beach style. We stayed at Serendipity Beach at a guesthouse on the beach called the Nap House. Only $9 a double and super clean, great staff, good food. I think it's still in the Lonely Planet as Uncle Bobs. Comes highly recommended but they only have 4 rooms so try and get there early. And make sure you visit Boom Boom Music. They have three branches in Cambodia. Get your iPod's filled with a fantastic music collection and they have awesome clothes and t-shirts too. In Phnom Penh we stayed at the Lakeside district. The guesthouse was called Lazy Fish and it was $4 US and basic, but good. Our room was right on the lake. Good luck for the rest of your travels, we will reading eagerly. Love Fiona and Marty. xx
23rd February 2006

Something sounds familiar about all this...
Hey guys! Good to see you are having a great time over there. Shame we didn't get a chance to catch up over there. We left the country three days before you got there. Of all the countries we visited, Cambodia was without a doubt a top highlight, so I have no doubt that you will all love it! Are you planning on going to Sihanoukville? If so, let us know - we have some great accommodation tips... Keep the entries coming, we are having fun reading them!
23rd February 2006

Life's good
Not one day in your lifes seems boring. I get very excited to receive your journal. for those who can't be there, through your words we imagine the place. Take care and may I suggest you do some shopping. It's easier to carry clothes than books! Besos, K
24th February 2006

Dear girls, you are NOt allowed to trnasport a Russian Kalachnikow into Australia, so just buy yourselves some nice orange clothes instead(ha,ha!).Did you get a glimpse of "Tonle Sap"?, that is not a soup but the gigantic lake or something that the Mekong forms and that you should have travelled alongside during your bus trip to nompen? OR WERE YOUS ALL SLEEPING???? I am so jealous, can't write anymore!Please think of your poor mother slaving around by herself in the garden... Viele Kuesschen, mum

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb