Going Places ~ Beautiful Khmer Kingdom


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
January 2nd 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

1st January 2008 ~ 1st Impressions



My flight landed at Phnom Penh International Airport at 8pm local time (9pm Singapore time). While it is not considered big by international standards, the airport is certainly new, clean and well maintained. Size doesn't matter all the time as I recall my recent experience at the new Bangkok Airport where we took more than 15 minutes to reach the customs from our plane (losing our way) because it was HUGE.

Anyway, after marching out of the Cambodian customs, H was already waiting for me patiently at the arrival hall.

It was his infectious and sincere smile that surprised and comforted me.



It was easy to feel that his smiles and excitment were coming straight from his heart. This was especially comforting in a new environment. He was just as excited as me for choosing to visit his country.

"Thank you for visiting my country."

It caught me by surprise again. He was eager to showcase his country to the outside world. It was certainly my honour to visit his country.

It was quite late by the time we reached H's house about 25 minutes car ride away from the airport. As I opened the car door, "Lok" the dog (which normally barked at strangers) greeted me with his wagging tail.

9pm ~ It was certainly late by Cambodian standards as we set down for a nice dinner. I later learnt that dinner was the combined efforts of H's sisters and cousin.

"Don't worry. I can adapt to Khmer food because its similiar to what I have back home."

I was honoured to be housed in the air-conditioned room (when I know that not all rooms in the house have the luxury of air-conditioning as electricity is expensive in Phnom Penh).

For a first time visitor, these minor gestures really meant a lot. My first impression of Cambodia is certainly great and I'm definitely looking forward for our coming days in this beautiful Kingdom!

Good night.



P.S. After years of war and unstability, Cambodia is finally putting the past behind as she join the ranks of her neighours to be an upcoming tourist destination. Visitors' arrivals finally crossed the 2 millionth mark for the first time in 2007. (Congratulations!) And contrary to popular beliefs, it is certainly a safe place to visit as Cambodians (Khmers) embrace the outside world with open arms.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb